Transition Into Motherhood

Life began at 29, but motherhood didn’t visit me until 38- and that was after a miscarriage. That was shocker #1: having a miscarriage. You never hear anyone talk about it until you have one. Never expecting it, and having waited so long to try to have a baby, I was devasted. The depression that followed was a gray, heavy fog that took months to lift. Actually, I didn’t even realize I was depressed until it started to lift. Months passed with no pregnancy. Finally, weeks after my dear husband’s father died, we were pregnant! I often wonder if Grandpa had a hand in it, up there watching over us.

Normally, somewhere around the 16th to 20th week of pregnancy, there is an ultrasound performed that looks for fetal health and the general health of the pregnancy. Many times, it is during this ultrasound that the sex of the baby is revealed. Several weeks before I had this detailed ultrasound, I had a very vivid dream that the baby was a boy. At the time, one of the women I worked with was reputed to be very accurate at telling the sex of an unborn baby. When I asked her if she had had any feelings about my baby, she asked me if I had had any dreams. When I told her about my dream, she said it was going to be a boy.  As it turned out, it was. Our little boy was due to join us on Elvis Presley’s birthday, January 8 (2003).

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in The Voyage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transition Into Motherhood

  1. Mama Zuzi says:

    Turns out some of us did think about miscarriages. My mother had a handful before having my brother 10 years after me. I always thought I’d have one, I guess because my mother did. But I never did.

  2. I’m glad you never had one, and sorry to hear about your mother.

Share your thoughts.

