Music Helps

This morning is one of those mornings when even a stiff cup of coffee isn’t enough to get everyone jump-started. The little man and I were up way too late last night, courtesy of my fêteing a sister-in-law on her birthday. I was hoping that we would both sleep in this morning. But, my son’s internal alarm clock seems to be going off at 7:15am these days, no matter how early or late he is in bed the previous night.

Trying to get the little guy to do his vision therapy and his summer homework is not fun, even on the best of days. This morning, he is overwhelming his brain with the least load put on it. I am barely functioning. And this is not a good mix. Talking, cajoling, and bribing are not working today. Then, inspiration strikes: music! The Romantics and That’s What I Like About You saves the day. The little man is, all of a sudden, able to do his VT, and the mood improves. We’ll keep the music rolling until all of the little guy’s required work is done. Then I’ll find a boom box and move the music outside, where I will be painting the trim on our house. Music always makes work less painful.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in The Voyage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

