Riding The Bus: A Quick Update

The night before the first day of school, my little man was in tears at the thought of having to ride the bus and go to school. I asked him what needed to change to make riding the bus ok with him. He talked about what has always bothered him: having to get on the bus when it’s full of kids, and quickly find a seat. I asked him if having the front seat on the bus saved for him every day would make his life better. He said it would.

So, I promised him that I’d take him to school in the morning, and that I’d ask his bus driver about saving the front seat for him every day. The bus driver was wonderful and said she’d make sure he had a seat at the front of the bus every day. So far, he’s doing much better. He still gripes about having to go to school, but at least the bus issue is no more.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Sensory Processing Disorder and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

