My Introduction to Hypnosis, A Restrospective

Back in 1999, I moved from being a deep-sea mariner, whose home was a ship, to someone who lived on land and went to work on the ocean. In the spring and fall of 2000, I decided to use hypnosis to help lose weight. I found a hypnotist in my town, and met with her. As it turned out, her specialty was past life regression, not weight loss. But she gave it a go, and gave me suggestions to want to exercise and eat healthfully. I would lie, reclined, and relax as she spoke and had gentle music playing. I was able to get to a state of deep relaxation (hypnosis) without too much trouble.

The most powerful session I had with her was one that, while I was in hypnosis, she asked me something about my highest self and to describe what was around me. At first I wasn’t sure just exactly what she meant by my highest self. That’s when things got interesting.

 Suddenly I was transported to a totally different place. I was at the sea-coast, on a small point of land, and the weather was dark, windy, stormy, tempestuous, and moody. The air was full of electricity, of energy. There was a house on a bluff that was up above sea level several feet. All around, tall, yellow grass was being blown over by the wind. I was outside near the house, standing with my face in the wind. A big sea was running, with waves crashing down on the rocks. I felt very powerful and big and full of energy. I was reaching out with both arms, soaking up the energy of the wind and air into my whole body. Then I saw a cartoon image of King Neptune coming up out of the ocean with lightning bolts coming from his fists. I chuckled because of his being a cartoon. But, because he was a cartoon, I knew I couldn’t be hurt by the lightning bolts. Then, I realized that I had this power. I was all-powerful (universal), but in no way that would bring harm to anyone or anything. I was compassionate. And then I felt an overwhelming sense of being loving.

 Afterward when I was talking about this with my hypnotist, I said the strongest feelings I had were a universal power with compassion and love. Those words reminded me of how God is supposed to be. My hypnotist reminded me that God is in all of us, and today I guess I truly felt, experienced, that highest part of me that is part of God. What an amazing thing to feel. It was as if I always knew I had these feelings and qualities, but I needed to be reminded of them.

Did I lose weight using hypnosis? Well, I joined Weight Watchers, and using both tools, I lost 45 lbs. However, I never truly conquered the emotional part of being an emotional eater. So, with some large life stresses and over the past 10 years, I gained it all back and then some. Still working on it.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Holistic Healing, Hypnosis, Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Introduction to Hypnosis, A Restrospective

  1. Amazing post. Your description is so powerful, thank you for sharing this.

  2. Pingback: Putting It All Together or Holy Shit It’s Working! | Life Is A Journey… Not A Guided Tour

  3. Pingback: I Wasn’t Seeking Spirituality. It Found Me. | Life Is A Journey… Not A Guided Tour

  4. Pingback: Casting Off A Cloak Of Shame, Kinda Sorta By Accident | Life Is A Journey… Not A Guided Tour

Share your thoughts.

