Trying to Find More Pieces of The Puzzle.

Sometimes being a parent just plain sucks. Especially when you have a kid that struggles and you try to try to help them, with not enough effect. My son cries about school, he rants about how hard this and that is, and he dreads going almost every day. This school year, my mission has been to figure out why my son has such a hard time dealing with school. He has a tough time with reading and writing; although, he is making progress. Is it sensory based? Would an appropriate sensory diet help him? Is it his visual system? Is it the fact that he processes a lot of things slowly, and no matter what I do, getting through every school day is just plain going to be hard for him?

I’ve had him evaluated for learning disabilities: yes he has some difficulty, but not enough to warrant his having a classroom aide. He does get help with reading from the special education department. Although, when he’s having trouble in class with directions, and he’s lost and falling behind, he often doesn’t get the help he wants; he gets frustrated and defeated. I took him to 36 sessions of vision therapy, and fought with him for 36+ weeks of doing vision therapy homework. His visual system is better, but still not great. I have had an Energy Therapist work on him, and it has made a big, positive change in my son; but he’s still having a tough time in school. We’re trying different things as part of a sensory diet: things to help his system work better, so his brain works better. So far, we’ve had a tiny bit of success there, but I’m wondering if there is more we can do in that realm. Searching for more pieces of the puzzle.

I read, I study, I network, I learn. I have patience, I push with firmness and love, I lose it, and I cry. I am a mother to a son with Sensory Processing Disorder and who knows what else. It is most definitely NOT a job for sissies.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Sensory Processing Disorder and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying to Find More Pieces of The Puzzle.

  1. Pingback: What a Difference a Year Makes | Life Is A Journey… Not A Guided Tour

Share your thoughts.

