How Long Can I Go Without Cleaning The Fish Tank?

I bet you think this title is a great metaphor for some deep meaning life lesson. Well, it could be, I suppose. But today I am literally looking at our 5 gallon fish tank that is home to 2 goldfish, and wondering how long it’s been since the tank has been cleaned. The water is a little bit cloudy, and I’ve noticed that one of the fish seems to be swimming around a little weird. Oops! I just noticed that when it’s swimming near the bottom of the tank and then stops swimming, it floats up to the top of the tank. Hmm. Not a good sign. I think it’s got an air bubble in it. Time to Google what to do.

Fast forward in time. Looks like our laziness in changing water in the fish tank probably contributed to our goldfish developing an air bubble in it. So, we have just completed a rapid water change in the fish tank. Because I’ve been meaning to do this the past few weeks, I had water ready and standing by.

At one point, during the water change, my 8 yr. old son disappeared for a few minutes- you know, that moment when it’s too quiet and you finally notice it. When he reappeared, he said that he’d been praying for his fish. That surprised and pleased me. Because I’m not as confident as he, that the fish will make it, I thought it prudent to prepare him for the fish’s potential demise. I told him that if the fish dies, to remember that the spirit of the fish will be free of its body and he can still talk to it whenever he wants. That’s how I explain death to my son, and he gets it.

Will the fish make it or not? Now we wait.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Spirituality, The Voyage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

