Brain Functions and Building With Legos

A few days ago, my little man was trying to put together a new Lego toy. He was very tired, and was having a heck of a time with the directions; lots of pieces with lots of dots. At one point, he was getting frustrated because things weren’t working out as they should have. Because I know him, I knew that his visual system was fried. He was having trouble looking at the pictures and then putting the correct pieces into place.

Much to my son’s complete frustration, he had put some pieces in the wrong place way back around the third step of the directions. I took what he had just built, and started to pull off pieces until I got to the last step he had done correctly. As I was pulling off pieces and my son was getting more and more pissed off with me and with the entire project, I explained that if the first layers of pieces weren’t put into place correctly, the rest of the pieces would not go on right, and he’d never be able to build what he was trying to build, correctly.

It flashed across my head: just like my son’s brain!! The processes that form the basis of more complex brain processes are not working correctly in my son’s brain. They work, but not very well. The neurotherapy that he is just starting, is all about working on these base brain functions. Once these base functions are working better, everything on top of them will work better.

Just like building with Legos.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Sensory Processing Disorder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

