Fresh Cut Grass

I have a confession to make: I love to mow the lawn. I love the smell of the freshly cut grass. I love the look of the grass when it’s all cut nice and short. And as I ride round and round our yard, following the line between the out of control grass, and the neatly shorn grass, it becomes very meditative for me. For those few hours, the lawn is my only focus.

Yesterday, while I was meditating mowing, I saw in a particularly wet area of the lawn, that a weed with tiny leaves was very prolific. I remembered that last summer, when we came home from a vacation and this part of the lawn hadn’t been mowed for a few weeks, this little weed had bloomed the most fragrant, microscopic blooms. So, yesterday, I left a small area of this weed to grow and bloom. I can’t wait to smell the sweet perfume!

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh Cut Grass

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    I love mowing our lawn, too. In part, because the noise of the motor quietens the voices in my head. 🙂 Plus, I love seeing the finished product. Here’s to the blooming of your fragrant weeds!

  2. I usually have to beg my husband to let me on the mower. He insists on cutting it most days and I know why…it’s peaceful!

  3. ournote2self says:

    I love cutting the grass! It’s a great time to clear my head.

Share your thoughts.

