Musings With A Psychic Friend

I have a fairly new friend with whom I love to chat. Even though we just met barely 4 months ago, I love our discussions. She has taught me that when you meet someone and immediately connect with them, it is very likely that you have shared a past life with them. And as I was so eloquently told, at a workshop recently, whether you believe that past lives exist or not, they do.

The other day, she told me about what was going through Judas’ mind before Jesus was crucified. (Did I mention that my friend is psychic? She is- and is amazingly gifted.) We were discussing how God works in the background. He works in small ways all day long. The red light that just catches you, leaving you cursing that you have been stopped, may have just saved you from a fatal (or not so fatal) car wreck. Deciding to go to a party that you were going to blow off, becomes the introduction to your future spouse. The bulk of God’s work goes unnoticed. Apparently, Judas believed that there was no way God was going to let Jesus be crucified, and he thought that Jesus would miraculously be saved at the last minute by some grandiose gesture. Sorry Judas.

Another thing we talked about was the subconscious mind, and how it affects us in ways we don’t know. Speaking for myself, trying to lose weight and keep it off has been a lifelong challenge. I began to believe that not being able to stick with a diet, or when the weight would come back on, was a sign that I had little or no willpower. In fact, what happens, is that the weight is here for a reason, and will keep coming back until that reason is uncovered and dealt with. Most of the time, why we need this excess weight isn’t known to our conscious mind, but it is in the subconscious mind. When thoughts and beliefs exist in our subconscious mind, they are the driving forces in our lives and are exponentially more powerful than the conscious mind. You can’t “will(power)” them away, or white knuckle through them. They control our actions every day. And here’s the kicker, most of these beliefs are set into your subconscious by the time you are about six years old.

Think about it. As a young child, things happen in your life that create a belief: you are 3 or 4 years old and are constantly doing things that are age appropriate, but nevertheless, annoy your grumpy father, and he regularly tells you that you are a bad girl. You internalize that you are bad, and you decide to be as good as possible. One of your core beliefs becomes that you are “bad.” As hard as you try throughout your life to be good, you can never be good enough to satisfy that subconscious misbelief. Chances are, you will grow up to be a huge prude.

We have subconscious thoughts that drive our behaviors all the time. So, you have a behavior that you don’t want- perhaps even an addiction, and you’ve tried cognitive therapy and other forms of talk therapy. You’ve tried willpower. You’ve tried rewards and punishment. And nothing is working for long. You still need the behavior. Obviously, an unknown, subconscious belief is at work. How can you find out what the belief is, if it’s not available to your conscious mind? You could find a local, reputable psychic, who can “read” you and tell you. You could meditate and ask your higher self what is going on. One of my favorite tools is hypnosis. In hypnosis, you can not only find out what’s driving the behavior, but you can also correct any misbeliefs.

As well as talking about how God works in mysterious ways, and the power of the subconscious mind, during one of the conversations between me and my friend, she let me know that we are connected. By this, I assumed she meant that we had shared a previous life together. No wonder we hit it off. Well, I will be exploring this further, on my own, when I learn some more skills (I want to develop my clairvoyance). But, in the meanwhile, I asked another psychic friend if she could see the connection for me. It turns out my friend and I have shared several lifetimes as sisters. I will be using a past life regression hypnotherapist to explore this further, in the coming months. I can’t wait to see the lessons we learned together in previous lifetimes. And I’m looking forward to figuring out what we are here to learn during this life.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Random, Spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Musings With A Psychic Friend

  1. I forgot to add in my email to you something else interesting. Sometimes when I meditate or do Reiki, I suddenly get a vision of myself as a really young girl. I feel like I’m observing my “old self”, if that makes any sense to you. Anyway, I know that a lot of my personality was developing at a young age like you mentioned above, so I wonder if I’ll be able to explore this more and get in touch with my basic emotions from the past and if that will help me heal old wounds. (sorry if this is too rambly, not even coffee yet this morning!)

    • What a fantastic opportunity to heal your younger self! Yes, for sure. Explore this further. You can send her Reiki (Reiki through time). And see if you can discover any old misbeliefs that you can shed new light on, with your adult wisdom. I have done this same thing using hypnosis. There are many ways to accomplish the same thing.

  2. Heligirl says:

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. I’ve gotten pretty involved in my church, which is Science of Mind, and there is a lot of discussion about the only way to change our lives is to change our beliefs. Meditation and talking with our higher selves is a great step. I’m starting to uncover a great deal. Did you see this month’s Oprah magazine has a whole section about intuition too. There is some great stuff there about learning to stop listening to our conscious mind and listen deeper. One suggestion on weight loss was women who were in touch enough with their bodies to know when they were 80 percent full would stop eating at that sensation. Those were the women who kept the weight off. Fascinating.

    • Sounds like a cool church. I did see this month’s O. I like that the theme was intuition, but being such a mainstream magazine, she could only scratch the surface of intuition. Good start, though (and still, good stuff). I have found that I really want to develop my intuition to a much higher degree. Lucky for me, I have a teacher not too far away (a local psychic). Can’t wait! My first class will be in September.

Share your thoughts.

