Mama Bear Keeps Trying

Here I sit, hours before my son’s parent teacher conference. I have so many things I want to share with his teacher: how awesomely amazing my son is, how completely creative he is, how very compassionate and caring he is, and how he has so very much energy.

What I need to get her to understand is that she doesn’t need to use threats and punishment to get him to learn. In fact, he’s very sensitive; both to all of the energy in his classroom, and to the intention of the words that come out of his teacher’s mouth. He already tries his best, and spends most of his time in school worrying about incurring what he perceives as the wrath of his teacher. I know that she cares very much about her students’ performance, but the way her style of motivation comes across to my son is wrath.

When his motor is running slow, and he’s not able to pay attention well enough to keep up with what is being taught, my little man will shut down and space out. To bring him back to the class, all his teacher needs to do is give him a gentle squeeze on the shoulder, not bring the entire class’s attention to the fact that he’s drifted off, thus completely embarrassing and (in his words) humiliating him.

What I want to get across to his teacher is that there is nothing wrong with my son. His brain is wired and works differently than many others. And from what I’ve read in several books and many websites and blogs, the way his brain works is actually ahead of our time. He is the evolution of our species. (And I have been told this by more than a handful of very intuitive people).

Our school systems need to get on the ball and figure out how to teach these children, recognizing their gifts, not thinking of them as less than; because there are more and more of these kids coming into this world. And it’s very much on purpose.

Somehow, I will help my son’s teacher see, as I do, that my kid rocks!

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Sensory Processing Disorder, Spirituality, The Voyage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mama Bear Keeps Trying

  1. Absolutely! I’ve no doubt that with you as his mom, he’s well on his way to becoming an amazing person. When I worked as a special ed tech in an elementary school, I had two goals in mind: to always teach in a positive way, recognizing and reinforcing the good qualities and strengths of each child, and to allow the kids to teach ME in the process. It’s about time teachers realize not everyone fits in a cookie-cutter mold of the “typical” student.

  2. Thanks! One of the big difficulties I see for teachers, is that so much is demanded of them, while continuing to cut, cut, cut the budget. This year, we do not have a full time Sp. Ed. instructor for the first time. And the entire school has only one aide. Also, the school’s counsellor works only 1 1/2 days a week. So much more keeps being dumped in the teachers’ laps. Could Little Man’s teacher change the way she handles the class? Yes. But after 25 yrs. of teaching, I don’t see that happening. (But that still won’t keep me from “advising” her on best ways to handle my son).

  3. Lenore Diane says:

    Your son’s teacher needs to see you as a partner in the process, too. She needs to listen to your advice and suggestions, as you spend time with him at home – in his ‘natural’ environment. Parents and teachers need to coexist, so the kids get the consistency. And as Darla said, it is not a cookie-cutter situation, nor should it be looked as one.

  4. Thanks for the comment Lenore. I don’t know if my son’s teacher views us parents as partners in the boy’s education. But she does see that we are supporting him at home with his school work. As much as there are times I want to throw myself on the floor in a tantrum, when dealing directly with the teacher I try to stay positive, mature, and in the mindset of being a team with her.

Share your thoughts.

