From Freak Out to Empowerment

A funny thing happened after I discovered an awesome article about dyslexia (see the post just before this one): the universe brought me more and then more information to help me help my son. Yes, I freaked out, realizing that there is yet another thing going on with my son. And I know that some of it can, indeed, be changed (with money and a lot of extra work). And I am in the process of figuring out how to best proceed. I believe that not dealing with his dyslexia has been a huge part of his hating school and feeling stupid.

What amazes me, is that one day, as I was surfing Facebook, I came across an article about dyslexia. A few days later, I mentioned the article to my son’s physical therapist, who immediately responded that she knew nothing about dyslexia. My next question to her was, whose area is this? Do occupational therapists handle this? The answer I got was more “I don’t know’s.” But the next thing to come out of her mouth was that there was going to be a talk at her office in a week’s time, given by a local woman who evaluates and treats people for dyslexia- an expert!

Two nights ago, I got quite an education on what to look for, in screening for dyslexia. I printed out the article I had found and brought it with me. As the expert was going through a Powerpoint presentation, many of her slides were word for word what was in the article I had. It turns out that the website the article had come from, was Bright Solutions, created by Susan Barton, whose program is used by our local dyslexia expert.

If you are concerned about your child possibly having dyslexia, check out these Characteristics of Dyslexia. Know that dyslexia has a genetic component to it, and you do not outgrow it. So, the sooner a child gets help, the better.

Working on spelling as many ways as I could think of. Drawing words in flour here.

One discouraging thing I learned, was that the reading program my son has in school doesn’t help with dyslexia. And the extra reading help he receives through the special ed. department doesn’t teach to dyslexia. However, I know that with our local expert’s help, we will be steered in the right direction: school accommodations for right now, and an appropriate reading program (that I will most likely have to buy myself and implement at home) that will help my son. Freak out over… for now.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From Freak Out to Empowerment

  1. kendra says:

    Hey Sue, sorry to hear about Carson. Hang in there!

  2. Thanks Kendra. What irks me, is that he was diagnosed with this 2 years ago and no professional or person at school ever suggested giving him accommodations for it. In fact, one teacher’s attitude was, if you give him accommodations for all sorts of things, they’ll become a crutch and he won’t learn. The ignorance astounds me.

  3. I can’t believe a teacher would consider something that HELPS a child learn to be a ‘crutch’! Just boggles my mind.

    • It would be one thing if that teacher reeeeeeally knew my son inside and out. But by nature of the job, none of them do. He’s a master at hiding his feelings from them. I’ll be back on the advocate bandwagon soon. Just gathering all my info and getting my ducks in a row.

Share your thoughts.

