Waiting to Exhale

Today has been a blur of phone calls made and received. Called Mom’s therapist. Her psychopharmacologist called me. Her caregiver called me. We shared information; compared notes. The consensus was unanimous: Mom has gone around the bend. She has lost touch with reality. She is nuts and needs to be hospitalized. More calls: notify the brothers, notify Mom’s regular doctor, make sure the cats will be cared for, stop the newspaper and have all mail forwarded.

At last. The build up over the past few weeks has come to a head. I’ve been talking with her various doctors and her therapist, letting them know each and every downturn I’ve seen, and reporting observations from Mom’s caregiver.

The surprise has been how fast she went from dumping her meds, to psychosis. Just one week. At least, because we’ve seen this before and it’s not our first time at this circus, my brothers and I have been very proactive at keeping tabs on Mom’s behavior. And I’ve been diligent about talking with Mom’s doctors and therapist. This time, it’s different because Dad is not here. All the crap he had to deal with over the years. Maybe one day I’ll catch a break and be able to grieve the loss of my father.

She’s at the hospital, waiting to be admitted. She is safe. I can breathe now… at least for a while.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Mental Health, The Voyage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waiting to Exhale

  1. I am so sorry to read this about your mom. I hope things can start to turn back around soon and she’s able to heal in time. this on top of your dad’s death, you must be reeling.

    • Thanks Darla. She’s being taken care of, but there’s only so much the hospital can do if she refuses medication. Yes, I have been reeling. A reiki circle last night helped. Energy Healing class tomorrow will help more. And a 1 1/2 hr. massage early next week will help even more! Yes, I have learned that self care is essential.

Share your thoughts.

