Following Strands, or Another Piece of The Puzzle

Being a student of spirituality, and how the universe operates, I have learned about following strands; those synchronicities and coincidences that happen and guide us this way or that. I can look back on my life and see times I made choices that impacted my life in big ways. When things worked out well, I considered my options and ultimately went with what felt right. I listened to my gut, my intuition. One strand leads to the next and so on.

When it comes to my son, following these strands has led to getting him all sorts of help in the form of therapies. Sometimes, the direction to go is easy to see, clear as a sunny day. In many instances I go by what medical professionals see when they evaluate my son, and the appropriate therapy is put into place. It always felt right. Speech therapy for language delays, occupational therapy to help Sensory Processing Disorder, and vision therapy to treat visual issues.

Then the universe lead me to “The Energy Side.” Following that strand took a little longer, only because I had no idea what energy therapy or energy work or energy medicine was. But once again, I went with my gut, and a whole new world was opened to me. Energy work has helped my son a lot as well as his “conventional” therapies.

Then came the day that I was attracted to read a blog only because the author lives in one of my most favorite states: Maine. I read her blog, only to find out that she has a son with Sensory Processing Disorder who is about the age of my son. Turns out she has lived in my area of the country as well, years ago. We clicked and more strands connected to other things.

Then I noticed another blogger who commented on my Maine gal’s blog. This one lives very close to me, grew up east like I did, and has a son with issues similar to my son’s. We connected and she shared the name of a professional that had helped her son, a neuropsychologist. I put that one in my back pocket for later, because frankly, I had no idea what a neuropsychologist was.

Next strand: my son’s physical therapist had a guest speaker who is a dyslexia tutor. I had just read a piece on Facebook about dyslexia and discovered a lot about my son that seemed to fit, so I went to the talk. At the end of the talk, the tutor said she’d be happy to screen my son for dyslexia, but with her training, she can’t evaluate people who have co-morbidities, such as Sensory Processing Disorder. I would need to find a neuropsychologist. Bingo! I just happened to have the name of one, and made the appointment.

photo of Little Man with puzzle pieces out

Searching for pieces of the puzzle that is my son.

This brings me to the latest piece of the puzzle: new diagnoses. Yes, Little Man does indeed have dyslexia. But, he was also diagnosed as having ADHD and pervasive anxiety. Yes, I have known that at times, it is very difficult for my son to focus and pay attention. But, with my limited knowledge, I always thought it was because of his sensory system being unregulated. That is part of it, but not all of it.

So, now I am learning about ADHD. What exactly is it? How does it affect my son, and what can be done to help him. At this point, I feel it’s appropriate to investigate and do some trials of medications (allopathic and homeopathic). And I also feel it’s appropriate to involve a child psychiatrist to help teach my son skills to cope, and ways to deal with the anxiety when he’s overwhelmed. More strands have already brought me not only the name of a recommended local child and adolescent psychiatrist, but I’ve talked with a parent whose son sees this man, and they think very highly of him.

And once Little Man can focus a bit more efficiently, there are things like neurofeedback and a program called Cogmed that will help rewire his brain so maybe he won’t need medication forever. And this will also be a good time to involve a tutor who specializes in dyslexia.

Hello Universe! I’m open and receptive to more strands.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Energy Therapy, Holistic Healing, Sensory Processing Disorder, Spirituality, The Voyage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Following Strands, or Another Piece of The Puzzle

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    This is wonderful … the connections that lead to questions and answers. Your picture of the puzzle of your son is absolutely perfect. The pieces of the puzzle are slowly coming together with the help of connections and strands. Excellent.

    • Thanks Lenore. I definitely see part of my mother journey as finding these missing pieces and putting them into place. Have found a bunch so far. It’s all a work in progress. And thinking of everything in terms of strands that lead us here and there, and connect us to eachother, it’s easy to consider that ultimately, we are all one. (Plus, playing around with Photoshop is something I don’t make enough time for lately. Fun stuff.)

  2. Hi. I just found your blog thru the SPD site and figured I’d stop by. My son is 2 weeks away from turning 6 and he has been diagnosed with ADHD. There are definitely a lot of sensory issues going on too but there’s been no official diagnosis of that. Yet. I’m wondering what accommodations your son gets at school that helps him make it thru the day without being disruptive etc. What have you found that works at home that helps to keep your son from being totally wound up and high energy all the time? I hope it’s ok that i asked that. Thanks.

    • Hi and welcome! The accommodations my son has at school are things like being able to sit on a big exercise ball instead of a chair. He can have a fidget. And he is not supposed to miss recess. Ideally, I would love it if our school system would recognize SPD and work with my son on a sensory diet during the school day, but they don’t. I would encourage you to have your son work with an OT (and develop a sensory diet), and to also to get the SPD diagnosis.

Share your thoughts.

