What’s Ahead for THIS School Year?

Over the past few months, we’ve had summer break from school. For those who follow us along regularly, you know that school is not a pleasant place for my Little Man to be. With his various issues (Sensory Processing Disorder, ADHD, Learning Disabilities, and anxiety), he has not yet attained a sense of accomplishment in school. And, in fact, having to be in the classroom, and having to learn the way he is being taught, is often a bit of hell.

The summer has been spent playing. Yes, we still do the necessary household chores and that sort of stuff. But there has been no school work. No sitting down and reading books. No worksheets. No practicing writing. No anything that even slightly resembles school. I decided to take a break. Little Man kept up going to PT, and he played… all… summer… long. He ran. He biked. He swam. He boated. He played and played and played.

Enjoying his Aunt and Uncle’s pool.

He worked on his boating skills.

Captaining the family boat.

And he enjoyed playing with his cousins.

Cannon ball!!

And it has been a great summer. So, what is this school year going to be like? Will there be tears and meltdowns on an almost daily occurrence? Will the torture continue (for both him and for me)? Or will this be a better year?

My favorite definition of insanity is doing things the same way over and over, and expecting different outcomes. So, what is going to change this year so it will hopefully be a better one?

To begin, Little Man now has an IEP (Individualized Education Program). What this means is that he will have extra help in the classroom. He has accommodations as well, to help him learn and to lessen his stress. I am hoping that this will make a real difference for him. We are also in the process of doing a medication trial to help with his ADHD. The medications are designed to treat inattentiveness, impulsivity, and hyperactivity. If these meds work, it should make a huge difference.

And once Little Man can maintain focus better, and doesn’t have to fight his impulsivity too much, I will hook him up with a tutor who comes highly recommended. One of the things I like about her specifically, is that she has been trained in several programs that are specifically for dyslexics, 2 of which I have investigated. I know that she can make a big difference for him.

Do I expect my kiddo to love going to school? No. But once he feels even a little bit of success, and isn’t overwhelmed on a daily basis, I hope that his school experience will become tolerable.

Rays of hope.

 

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Ahead for THIS School Year?

  1. OneLoCoMommy says:

    Sounds like Little Man had a great summer – love the pic of him driving the boat!

    Best of luck to you and Little Man as you start the school year. It’s never easy. 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by. In some ways I wish this summer could just keep going on and on and on.

Share your thoughts.

