Le Petit Déjeuner

Little Man and I flew across country several weeks ago. Because our flight got in too late to pick up our rental car, we had to spend the night at a hotel before going on to our destination. In the morning, we decided to take advantage of the free breakfast, as did most of the other 285 guests.

As the mobs of people parted like the Red Sea, I dove in and grabbed a bagel and egg. Poor Little Man was so overwhelmed by the crowds that he barely peeled himself off the wall to scramble between a family headed for the beach, and a man late for his business meeting, to wind up with a bowl of frosted flakes. After we managed to get some juice, we were looking around at all the tables and saw a group getting up. Making like Flo Jo, I sprinted for the table, arriving at the same moment as a couple with a look of confusion on their faces. Did they get the table? Was it ours? Who got there first?

Well, it was a table for four, and two of us plus two of them made four. I suggested that we share the table. What I soon discovered, was the woman I was talking to barely understood English. She was Québécois. With my obvious arm gestures and the little English the woman did understand, it was decided: we would share the table.

After a while, I got up the nerve to try out a few words here and there. My rustier than rusty French started to come back to life. Bonjour. They were visiting to shop and go to the beach, and to eat lobster. We were in town to celebrate the life of my father, who had died. We spoke en Francais and spoke en Anglais. My tenses and vocabulary were abysmal, but the points got across. Even without French toast or Belgian waffles, it was an international breakfast. And how lovely it was that with each of us stretching ourselves to use the unfamiliar language, we were able to communicate.

And how fun it was to see the look of confusion and amazement on Little Man’s face as the woman and I chatted bilingually. He had no idea that I knew any French other than Bonjour!

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Random, The Voyage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Le Petit Déjeuner

  1. I would love to try and put my rusty French to use like that. I took four years of it in high school and I think I’ve forgotten most of it. How nice you and your lil’ man had such a good breakfast. Love the photo in your header, by the way.

  2. I had 5 years of French between Jr. and Senior High School, plus 4 semesters in college. Amazing what you can forget in 30 years. But it was fun trying to bring it back. The photo was on a last gasp boat ride, as the sun was setting.

Share your thoughts.

