To Everything There Is A Season

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.

Right now is a time to rest. To take a breath. To build up energy.

A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, a time to reap that which is planted.

frozen blackberry

Frozen blackberries.

Winter, cold and frozen, is the time to let fields lay fallow. After a while, new ideas will sprout and will be birthed.

A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up.

Now is a time to let everything I know, assimilate. Let it meld, like a good pot of soup that gets better the longer it sits and simmers.

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance.

frozen leaves

Now is  a time of weeping and mourning. It’s the time needed for the heart to heal. And in time, the laughter will come. And the body will want to dance again.

Lines of lyrics used from: “Turn! Turn! Turn! (to Everything There Is a Season)”, is adapted entirely from the Book of Ecclesiastes in the Bible (with the exception of the last line) and put to music by Pete Seeger in 1959.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in The Voyage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Everything There Is A Season

  1. emjayandthem says:

    That song was sung at my Dad’s funeral; it always makes me weep and smile, all in one.

    Death is part of life, but why does it have to hurt so much?

    Hugs to you
    MJ

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    I always thought they put these verses to such a nice tune. I hope you are finding comfort. Amen.

  3. Lots of love to you in this tough time.

  4. Lenore Diane says:

    I’m here again. Re-reading this post. Funny, because my Uncle died last night. So much peace with these verses. Yep, I still find comfort in it. Thank you for posting it.

Share your thoughts.

