Waves

This morning I am a small boat being battered around by waves, this way and that. Cranky, whiny, Monday morning waves that profess to not feeling well, and don’t want to go to school. And the more I try to plow through the waves, the more turbulence is created and the wetter I get. So, I turn about and decide to surf along with the waves. They begin to calm a bit.

Sometimes,  steep, choppy waves batter me about. I can slow down and continue to plow forward, being tossed up and down, getting the snot beaten out of me. And then there are times that I just plain give up, like today, and let the waves turn me. Some would call it defeat. I call it ending resistance. On a sailing vessel, they call it running down wind, allowing the wind to push you from behind.

After a while of going with the flow, the seas have calmed to little ripples. I know that this is the opportunity to head back upwind and make way once again. The short-lived tempest has passed and we can now go on our way, and on with our day.

In the aftermath, some planks have come a little bit loose, and the bilges need bailing. With a little rest and repair, this vessel will be ready to tackle it all again, too soon.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Sensory Processing Disorder, The Voyage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Waves

  1. Lenore Diane says:

    Beautiful. Here’s to calm seas ahead.

Share your thoughts.

