How A Chick From Maine Changed My Life

I don’t even remember how long ago it was, but once upon a time, I discovered WordPress’s Freshly Pressed. That very first time I ever saw it, I saw a title that intrigued me: She’s a Maineiac. Right off, I said to myself, “Cool! A chick from Maine has a blog. (I spent every summer when I was growing up, on the coast of Maine, and lived there for a while in my early 20’s). I need to check this out.” Ok, I just went back into my e-mail and discovered that my first direct contact with Darla was an e-mail I sent in February of 2011. It started off, “Hi! I don’t often write to people whose blogs I read, but I had goosebumps when I read your comments; learning about your son and about your taking Reiki courses.”

 That first blog post I came across was Quick Mom! Run and Hide! At the time, I believe her About Me section on her blog was different from how is it now, because I connected with some similarities between us: having sons almost the same age, who both have sensory issues (several shared ones), loving photography, having lived in both Maine and Washington state, and having an interest in energy healing. When she answered me back about how using Reiki with her son helped calm him tremendously, it didn’t take long for the idea of my learning Reiki to pop into my head. I looked on the internet for a local Reiki Master and class, and found a class that was offered about 2 or 3 weeks later.

Becoming attuned to Reiki opened something in me that began a big catapult in my life. The irony is, after I could give Reiki, my son wanted nothing to do with it. (Thankfully, these days, he asks for it often). The week after my first Reiki class, I decided to check out the website of the center where it was taught; a Unity center. On their list of upcoming events, was a talk that was going to be given by a man who called himself a high frequency energy healer: Roger Deycaza.

Having had healing sessions with an Energy Healer for the past year, I was intrigued to see what Roger’s work was about; so I went to his talk. He talked about training in Pranic Healing for years, and then one day, being able to feel everyone’s physical and emotional pains. He talked about how everyone has an energy field that extends beyond their physical body. And as we all sat in this small room, everyone’s energy spread out and over time, swirled around and mingled with everyone else’s. He explained that when he works with a person, he is able to help that person raise the frequency, or vibration, of their body’s energy. And in doing so, the person is able to release things that resonate at a lower vibration from their physical, emotional, mental and spiritual bodies. And those lower vibrating energies might be felt as physical pain in your back, or anger towards a person, or a feeling of undeservedness.

There were a few people there, who provided testimonials of Roger’s work, including a woman, Jeanie, who had experienced healing so complete and profound, that bones that she had broken, when x-rayed, now show no evidence of every having been broken. As she told her story, at one point, she turned to me and talked directly to me, as if I was the only one in the room. Roger also told a story of working with a man who had ALS, and was able to be healed.

At the time, I was on the hamster wheel of cortisone shots and cycles of physical therapy for a badly herniated disc in my lower back, and I thought, I gotta get a session with this guy. And I did. That session released so much in my physical body, that I have not needed a cortisone shot, nor have I done any physical therapy since. No, my back is not perfect, but it’s damned good.

The next connection came when I learned that one of the women who had been at Roger’s talk, not only had had Roger do energy work on her that was amazing, but she, herself, has skills in the fields of intuition and healing. The next thing I knew, I had a psychic reading with Jeanie Adkins, Angel Therapy Practitioner. She not only reads what’s going on in your life, what has happened previously in your life, what has happened in previous lifetimes, and can see possible future events, but she heals as well. I don’t know what happened to me that day that she read me, but something healed, opened, I don’t know what, and once again catapulted me into the world of spirituality. All of a sudden, I wanted to know everything about healing, energy and about metaphysical things. It was so intense that my head literally hurt for a day and a half (I think it was my crown chakra getting cranked open).

Since that time, I’ve been a student; reading book after book, watching talks and interviews on Youtube (I created my own Youtube channel where I’ve compiled several of these teaching videos). I’ve taken several classes in healing and connecting to the world of spirit. And I’ve worked with several people to support my own healing. Where I am today as a person is so far removed from where I was 2 and 3 years ago, that I am amazed. The peace that is in me, and the ability to move through some very difficult situations, is indescribable.

Connecting through blogging, has changed my life. Things have been put on the fast track. Because I took a chance and connected with Darla, she told me about Reiki and how it  helped her son. Yes, I made the decision to pursue it myself, in hopes of helping my son. But that option never would have existed without the initial suggestion. Thank you Darla. You helped change the trajectory of my life.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How A Chick From Maine Changed My Life

  1. emjayandthem says:

    I’m a Darla fan, too … and I love how you so eloquently explained not just your connection but all that you learned, discovered and embraced after that 🙂

    Ain’t bloggin’ grand?
    MJ

    • Thanks! And after I wrote it, I remembered another connection I made, thanks to Darla’s blog. I connected with Dawn of Tales From the Motherland, who turned me on to a wonderful local neuropsychologist who helped my son. Funny, connecting to someone not too far from me, through a blog of a person across country!

  2. Sue, reading about your journey is truly inspiring. I can say the same thing about you. Thank YOU. If it wasn’t for you initially connecting with me back then like that, I would never have gotten to know Meredith. Incredible that you happened to be reading her book, mentioned her to me and that she lived in Maine. When I discovered she literally worked at the hospital down the road from me about five minutes away, I was shocked at the coincidence. Of course, when it comes to Reiki, there are no coincidences.

    I think it was more fate that we meet up on the internet. Strange how BOTH our sons had struggled with similar sensory issues! What are the odds?

    And look how both of our lives have been transformed! I totally credit you for reaching out to me that first time. Reading about your experiences keeps me chugging along with the Reiki. As a matter of fact, I’m going to another Reiki share in two weeks with Meredith and finally getting my training done so I can volunteer at the cancer center she helps run! This never would have happened without you. So thank you. You’ve also set my life down a different path.

    • By the way, I’m loving your YouTube channel.

    • Woo hoo!!! Love it. And these days I do not believe in coincidences either. So awesome that you’ll be able to volunteer at the cancer center.

      And I’m glad you’re loving the Youtube channel. I need to add more to it- been a while. I especially loved the Caroline Myss video that speaks to why we get sick: Energetics of Healing. Loved it so much I went and bought the DVD.

  3. Arindam says:

    I am also a huge fan of Darla’s writing. I believe the toughest job in the world is too spread the smile and Darla does that really well with her writing. I too came across her blog during my early days of blogging and after that I have been reading all of her posts and I have also learn from her that I do not need to feel shy about fun of myself in order to bring smiles on my blog’s readers faces. 🙂

  4. Jen says:

    What a wonderful story! Thanks so much for sharing it. I think I’m ready to get more into Reiki. Would you be interested in working with me?

Share your thoughts.

