Falling Off Your Path

In the spiritual self-help community, there is big emphasis on being on your path. This is the path to enlightenment, the path to our best self, the path to an authentic life, the path to our highest self. There are many ways to phrase it, but in the end, finding the path and staying on it, is high priority, and with good reason.

However, more than once, I’ve heard that wherever we are is the exact place we are meant to be at that moment in time. If that’s the case, can you really, truly, every fall off the path? I don’t think so, and here’s why.

Life is a bunch of lessons. And when do we learn the most? When life gets difficult. When things are challenging. At some point, we create a shift, and things in our life improve. It seems to me that people talk about being off their path during these times of challenge. But what if that challenge was just part of the path? Maybe it was a meandering part of the path. Maybe it was an uncomfortable part of the path. But I think it’s all part of the path, our journey. (After all, life’s a journey, not a guided tour!)

I think that for some people, especially people who consider themselves enlightened, they feel that they are off their path if they don’t listen to their intuition and venture down a different route than they would have, if they’d listened to their wisdom. But that’s all part of life, part of their path. And the cool thing is, that when they realize they’re not where they want to be, they know that it is they who can change the trajectory of their life; and they act on it. THAT is having self authority!

So, instead of judging and flagellating yourself over perceived wrong doing, if you feel you fell off your path, shift your perception and remember that you are always where you are supposed to be at that exact place and time. But that doesn’t mean you can’t course correct when you want.

This post was inspired by Lisa and her most recent Practically Intuitive post called When It’s Hard To Be Thankful For What Shows Up.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Holistic Healing, Spirituality, The Voyage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Falling Off Your Path

  1. Great thoughts here, M2M. I’ve wondered the same thing. I think sometimes we do get detoured, especially when we “know” what we’re doing isn’t right, but that like you said, it’s just a learning opportunity to get back on our ideal path.

    All roads lead to Rome, some are just longer and bumpier than others, huh?

    Enjoyed, thanks!

  2. Wise Words! Thanks!

  3. emjayandthem says:

    Love this — and I think you are on to something – every step along the path is meant to be there. Sometimes we step off the path into the thorns and sometimes we try to step too far ahead. I think the point might be to enjoy the path, to slow down, look around, listen and learn!

    Bests!
    MJ

    • When I wrote this, a wonderful psychic woman, whose work and teachings I follow, and whose talents I have used, was getting pretty hard on herself for falling off her path. And yes, I have subscribed to the notion of our path being the optimal path, perhaps the God lead or inspired path. But in feeling her judgement, and thinking about it, I now subscribe to the idea that our path includes all detours and meanderings.

      I love your added perspective!

  4. Totally agree! If struggle is off the path… I’m in trouble. 😉

Share your thoughts.

