And In One Long Step, I Broke My Foot

For those who have a sense of who I am, when something as big as breaking a foot happens to me, the second thing that comes to mind is, what message is the universe trying to get through my thick skull? What’s this really about.

The first thing that came to mind was, “Ow, ow, ow!! Crap! Ow!! Crap! Little Man, go get your father!” That was just after I took a big step from our gravel walkway, down onto our lawn. A step I’ve done hundreds of times. This time, I had a sore ankle that my doctor, just the day before, had labeled as severely strained. Did I sit and keep my foot up, soaking and icing it? Well, for a little while. But, like most people, I had things to do.

Three little pots of herbs were waiting to be repotted so I could put them on the window sill just above my kitchen sink. I wanted to get it done before they died. So, I had just finished this task when I took a step and felt a horrible, horrifying ripping tear, just below my ankle.

I knew at that very moment it was bad. I put no weight back on it after nearly screaming in pain in front of my kid. Yelled, I did. Scream, I did not. Thank goodness my husband was home. He drove me to the Emergency Room, where Gerry, my nurse, was as efficient as he was funny. And, as it turns out, he grew up about 3 towns away from where I grew up, 3000 miles away. The x-ray showed a break in my foot, and I think a tendon may have been torn. I’ll find out the gory details soon. An orthopedic surgeon checked it out 24 hrs. after the injury, and ordered an MRI.

Ok, Universe. You’ve got me dead stopped. Even hobbling around the house on crutches is something I can barely do. Looks like I’ll be making one with the sofa and chairs around the house. Thank goodness even though our house has an upstairs, our bedroom, bathroom, and living spaces are on the ground floor. Perhaps I can get caught up on some reading and movie watching. I’ll get more insight into the higher meaning of things with the help of some dear friends. But for now, it’s all I can handle just to get to the bathroom.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Spirituality, The Voyage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And In One Long Step, I Broke My Foot

  1. cyclingrandma says:

    Oh, sorry to hear. Take care and don’t be in a hurry to do everything. It will take time.

  2. emjayandthem says:

    Oh my goodness sakes! While not the same, I had foot surgery (elective) several years ago. It was debilitating and difficult to rely on others. I did it, but I’m still p_ssed off about how hard it was. Why? When you’re USED to being capable, feeling incapable is really, really sobering.
    I hope you get some good pain meds and some light reading.

    PS, love that you tagged this “Kim and Kanye” you tricky minx!

    Happy healing … MJ

  3. If we didn’t have plane tickets to fly across country this summer (and I opted out of the travel insurance, darn it), I wouldn’t be so bummed. My ten year old is very worried that our trip is in jeopardy.

    Finally, the pain meds are actually helping (48 hrs. post injury). I have some good stuff for night, and got more than 4 hrs. of sleep last night. Tomorrow I have an MRI, and then find out next week if I’ll be facing surgery.

    Love that you caught the tag. I was feeling sassy!

  4. Take it slowly! That’s the message.

    • Yes. It sure is. And I have been told that I really needed to slow way down to let all the awesome healing work I’ve been doing lately, really do it’s thing. Hard to get used to not being able to do much.

Share your thoughts.

