My View From The Chair

Being forced to slow down and look at life from sitting in our comfy living room chair is definitely an adjustment. I am so used to doing this and that, putting in a load of laundry, fixing a meal, watering my plants, taking the kid to a play date, doing the household shopping, taking the kid to his tutor, and lots more. But I am taking the Universe’s message to me to slow down to a full stop, quite seriously.

Especially after a few days ago when I was maneuvering my knee scooter up one step onto our side porch so I could come back into our house. I got the front part of the scooter up the step and promptly lost my balance, going over backwards. My instincts took over and I put my injured foot out to stop my fall. A moment later, I realized what I was doing and pulled my foot up, followed by hitting the ground, scraping my good leg and slicing my wrist on some gravel.

I lay there, in pain, waiting for some of it to pass, so I could begin to think about how to get up. I also thought about how much is truly sucks to be hurt and to get hurt more. My wonderful husband helped me get back up and into the house, where I retreated to our comfy living room chair. He cleaned up my new cuts and bandaged my wrist.

Since this fall, my foot, more specifically the torn tendon in it, has been miserable. Miserable to the point of my needing to take narcotics to quell the pain. This sucks because things had finally calmed down enough that I was only taking some ibuprofen twice a day to be comfortable. One fall down, one big step backwards.

When I shared this latest fall with my wise psychic friend, Jeanie, as much as a person can using a text message, she slapped me and told me to sit my ass down in a chair and stay there! Ok! Ok! I get it!! She explained that over the past few months, I have done a lot of work energetically healing a lot of crap from my childhood. And now I need to stop and rest so the healing energies can do their thing on me.

So here I sit, with my electronics, my scooter, and some water. Sitting, watching some TV, napping, sitting, having a meal, sitting, getting bored, sitting, waiting for surgery, sitting…

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Holistic Healing, The Voyage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My View From The Chair

  1. And you know she’s right even as it’s hard to acknowledge that. Me? I’d look at it as a chance to be waited on and fussed over and just worshipped (but I have royalty issues. Your mileage may vary! heh)

    Take it easy and you’ll be back in full swing, all newly integrated energies rocking and rolling at full tilt! ❤

  2. Thanks Lisa. Jeanie and I had a great talk yesterday about all this healing stuff, and I do see the big picture. Just a challenge for me to sit back and not do much, as both of my guys have huge organizational challenges (both have ADHD and dyslexia) that manifest in starting things and not finishing them. I can’t stand laundry and the lawn being half done. But I’ll learn to get over it. It’s not the end of the world. And I am so very grateful that I have 2 amazing guys in my life (hubby and son).

  3. emjayandthem says:

    It is very hard to get that message, especially as women, for we are ingrained at “doing.” Sit … rest .. let the healing come.

    MJ

    • Thanks MJ. I am doing a lot of sitting and resting. I am also getting the sense that this is also about letting go (and letting God). It’s that thing where you put a lot of work into something, and then you get to the point where you just put it out to the universe and trust. Tendon surgery tomorrow (Monday)!

  4. Just as you should be… feel better soon. Hope the surgery goes well!

  5. How much faith do you intrinsically have on Jeanie told you? Is that why you are sitting in that chair or is there something else?

    Good post……

    Shakti

    • Welcome Shakti. I have a lot of faith in my friend Jeanie and the messages she receives from the Divine. The immediate reason I am sitting in my chair is that I just had surgery on my foot and I have to keep it elevated and iced as it heals. I am not allowed to bear any weight on the foot for about four weeks. However, with all the healing work I have been doing at the spiritual and emotional levels, I understand the need to just sit and be and let the healing energies integrate into my physical body.

      Also, Jeanie is certainly not the only person I know who sees this same thing- check out Lisa’s response above. I also take any information that is for me that comes through someone else, and sit with it to see if it resonates for me. This needing to sit and be still for a while does resonate with me. And I also see lessons for my family members as they step up to take care of me (instead of me doing the lion’s share of the care giving). Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Yes, do more of this slowing down thing! I’ll email you later on…I want to send some distance Reiki to you.

  7. Don’t worry Darla. I’m at a full stop now. And now that the surgery has happened, I welcome any and all healing energies at all levels. So excited to receive Reiki from you! (The surgery repaired a torn tendon and removed a small extra bone that was involved and was also broken. The bone was cut out of the tendon. Apparently, I have a few extra bones in my feet: one less these days.)

  8. Glad to hear that you’re sitting now. Or you were, 10 days ago. How is your foot now? If that happened to me, I probably would have cried with frustration and questioned: why?? Why does this have to happen to me? AGAIN? It’s like banging your head on the corner of the cabinet when you least expect it- it totally sucks and can sometime bring me into a non-sensical state of mind.

    Anyway, hope you’re feeling better and I applaud your will to just sit and wait for your foot to heal!

Share your thoughts.

