Raising A New Mind

We spend our formative years learning how to color within the lines, how to fall in line and be quiet. We learn to conform, and we learn competition.

And when we grow up, we find that our world is full of problems that need to be solved. We see that our world, because of global instant communication, is changing faster and faster. Coloring within the lines has helped to create our current problems. We need to be able to take a blank sheet of paper and create from nothing, something new. We need to figure out how to think outside the box, when we’ve been raised to think within the box.

There are special minds that are being born into the world these days, more and more. These minds have a very difficult time conforming to rules and regulations. They fight the system from the minute they come in. They are wired for extreme creativity; they have a very difficult time coloring inside the lines, beginning during childhood. And they struggle to conform, to fit in, to fall in line and be quiet. When they are guided instead of being squished into boxes, they are the salvation of our society. They are born to think differently, and their unbounded energy and creativity is the new mindset that our planet needs now. Our world needs these minds. And it needs us to work cooperatively: to come together and to work as a team.

We can’t solve problems with the mindset that created them. I believe Einstein or someone equally brilliant, came up with that one. He had one of these brains.

There is a reason there are so many children being born who wear labels like ADHD, dyslexia, and Autism. These kids can not conform with out pain and discomfort. To try to bend and fold them in order to squish them into our invisible boxes, is a mission that is guaranteed to screw these kids up. Their lives become so painful that suicide among them during teen years is a reality. So don’t fuck up these kids by trying to make them something they are not.

We, as adults, as a society, need to learn how to reach these children, how to teach these children, how to help them make the most of their natural gifts. Here is a video of one of these wonderfully amazing children, who just happens to be a mathematical genius. But more important than that, is his message of letting people think for themselves.

My mission, as mother to one of these amazing and gifted children, is to find the balance in helping Little Man learn things that he struggles with, like reading and writing, while allowing his gifts, his creativity, to explode.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Raising A New Mind

  1. Arindam says:

    This is a very meaningful & thought provoking post.
    “These kids are born to think differently, and their unbounded energy and creativity is the new mindset that our planet needs now.” -I agree with you completely when you say this.
    While reading this post, an Indian movie “Taare zameen par” (it’s English version is called “Like Stars on Earth “) came to my mind. If you can then watch this movie, I am very much sure you are going to like it. It’s based on the same thoughts which you have written in this post.

    • Hi Arindam! Thanks for reading and for your comment. I will definitely have to find “Like Stars on Earth.” There is another blogger who has been a teacher in England for years, and who has discovered these wonderful children during her career. She writes about them in her blog http://janstoneblog.wordpress.com/ . My post before this one is a reblog of one of Jan’s pieces, about a school that she imagines and that I wish my son could attend.

  2. Beautiful, moving, very well said… love this post, Susan. Really wonderful.

  3. Amen, Susan. Love that Einstein quote.

    You reminded me of a favorite Apple video, “here’s to the misfits, the crazy ones…” They are the ones who think differently; they change the world.

    • Abso-friggin-lutely!!!! Thanks for the video. It is fabulous. And so many of the people it featured are dyslexic! (I have read 2 books that speak to the gifts of dyslexia). Thanks for reading.

  4. janonlife says:

    What a brilliant and inspiring post, Sue. Thank you so much.
    As part of my ‘freelance educator’ role, I work once a week with a wonderful group of home-educated teens here in England. I’m going to take a copy of your post to share with them when we start back in September. Can’t think of a better way to kick off our new project!
    (I also loved the Apple video!) 🙂
    Must also hunt around for the movie Arindam suggested.

  5. Thanks. And please do share this. I found the movie Arindam mentioned, on YouTube in its entirety. Haven’t watched it quite yet.

  6. filbio says:

    I just had to drop by and check out your blog after you commented on mine. This is such a deep and meaningful post. I don’t have kids but my friends and family do. I can attest to what you convey here as I see parents, educators, and society doing this to children out there. I think they feel if they can bend them into what we think is the norm they will be ok, but that is far from the truth.

    • Thanks for dropping by. All of this sort of thing is so far from what my experience was when I grew up because things like school were easy peasy for me. I spent my time dodging my mother’s venomous tongue, and keeping my head down. But a few years ago, some really amazing synchronicities started happening to me as I was trying to help my son be able to deal with the public school experience. And I was guided to people who can see things you and I can’t see, and who can actually help these amazing kids. From those who have a sixth sense, I have learned that the reason so many more of these kids are being born these days, has nothing to do with vaccines or anything people are doing wrong. They’re coming to force changes. Changes in how we treat each other. Changes in how we teach our kids. And they are often brilliant, despite perhaps not being able to speak.

      I’d write more about my time at sea, but several of my sea stories will go to the grave with me.

  7. CBurns says:

    Thank you for sharing this, it not only blew my mind, but I’m also very inspired.

    • You are very welcome! It took meeting some very intuitive people, to help me learn just how amazing my son is. Since I first discovered this, there are many people I have found, who share this view. Unfortunately, our current public school system is not there yet.

Share your thoughts.

