Throw Back Thursday: Preschool Retrospective

I enjoy taking part in Throw Back Thursday on Facebook, and when I look at this picture, the entire story around it comes back.

boy on tricycleThis was Little Man’s first school picture, taken when he was still two years old and attending a preschool for kids with developmental delays.

At that point in his life, Little Man had been the subject of many of my photographs, and they were all candid. I never said to him, “Say cheese!” I waited for the opportunity and caught him smiling or laughing, or concentrating while doing something.

Just weeks before this picture was taken, Little Man entered this special preschool. In order to qualify, Little Man was tested in six areas of development and was found to have delays in five. The one that wasn’t delayed was large motor skills. Go figure. His nickname was Motor Boy.

When this picture was taken, Little Man was receiving speech and occupational therapies. Even though he thought he was talking up a storm, what was coming out of his mouth were a handful of words and a lot of jargon. Eventually, the idea of words and language would click in his head. To this day, when he gets really tired, he sometimes struggles to get the right words out.

young boy sitting in sinkAbout this time I discovered that Little Man was photogenic. I’d heard that term thrown around, but finally appreciated it.

Back to the day the preschool picture was taken. As you can see, the photographer had a few props to set the scene. She had each child sit in the little chair, with the bookcase on one side and the tricycle on the other.  She had flash umbrellas set up and her camera on a tripod. We had Little Man sit, and the photographer said, “Say cheese!” The poor kid didn’t know what was going on, as his teacher and I were both there trying to get him to smile for the camera. Pretty soon I saw his left foot reaching out towards the tricycle. A moment later, he climbed on it and joyfully tried to ride off into the sunset. I stopped him, grabbing the handle bars, and pushed him back into frame. The second I jumped back behind the flash umbrella, the photographer hit the shot. I bet it was the best one she got that year.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Photography, The Voyage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Throw Back Thursday: Preschool Retrospective

  1. He is just beaming in that photo! So adorable!
    I’m feeling all emotional lately thinking about my son. He graduates into middle school in 2 weeks! Slow down time!

    • Middle school!? Whoa. Does his middle school start at sixth grade, or will he be in seventh? Our middle school is what I grew up calling Jr. High school: grades 7&8. With as busy as you’ve been the past few years, I bet time is flying by even faster for you. Little Man has a fall birthday so he’ll be in 6th grade in the fall. These are 2 of my favorite shots of him at 2 yrs.

  2. emjayandthem says:

    adorable! That sink one, with the double image, now that’s also just precious!
    MJ

  3. He IS photogenic! I love these photos of him and how the photographer (you in the second one) clearly captures his spirit and joy. I used to call my son Little Man until hubby stopped me. My Little Man is now 14, heading to high school and outweighs me by 40 pounds. When did this happen??

    Beautiful post about your beautiful boy!

Share your thoughts.

