Why Keeping Weight Off Is Such A Struggle

So many people have the mindset of, “If I could just lose weight, then my life would be all sunshine and rainbows.” “If I could just lose weight, all of my problems would suddenly disappear and I’d feel wunderbar!”

from Google Images

from Google Images

Just take these pills: don’t change what you eat, and don’t exercise, and the weight will fall off! Or, eat these prepackaged meals for the rest of your life and you’ll be skinny! Count calories. Don’t count calories. Low fat. Low carb. The issue of weight loss is on every cover of every magazine you see at the grocery store checkout.

from Google Images

from Google Images

News flash! If you lose weight, you will be smaller and lighter, and might even feel better in your clothes, but you will still be the same person who needed that pint of Ben and Jerry’s the other night when you were watching TV. The things about your spouse that drive you nuts, will still drive you nuts.

And for those who have lost weight, only to gain it back every… single… time, the reason it keeps coming back is because there is a need for it to be there. You think, it will be different this time. This time I’m on a program. This time I’m all pumped up to go to the gym. This time I’m…

from Google Images

from Google Images

Maybe things have gotten so bad that you’re contemplating bariatric surgery of some sort. You’ve heard that the pharmaceutical industry has come out with a diet pill that really might work (and really might damage your body) and you’ll do anything do try to lose weight.

I’ll let you in on a little secret: as long as extra weight needs to be with you, it will stay with you. It always fulfills a need, serves a purpose. Sure, you can go on a diet and you will probably even lose weight, for a while. And you can even go to the extremes of cutting out most of your stomach and bypassing some of your intestines, to live a life of unpleasant and unwanted side effects, with the very real possibility if stretching out your stomach over time, regaining lost weight.

from Google Images

from Google Images

Until you heal the reason why you are overweight, you will be fighting losing weight or maintaining weight loss for the rest of your life. And 9.9 times out of 10, that reason is buried deep in your subconscious mind.

If the thought of stopping eating any category of food sends you into a spiral, there are subconscious beliefs affecting your eating. Can you give up candy, ice cream and chocolate for a few days, only to turn into Oscar the Grouch’s bitchy twin? Can you give it up for a few weeks, only to dive back into that pint of Ben and Jerry’s with a fervor? Does the thought of giving up pizza send you running for a slice? And you’ve been told over and over that you just need more willpower, more discipline, and be a more mindful eater?

I say bullshit! Willpower is a term used by people who don’t understand the mechanics of the subconscious mind and the power it has over you. However! Once, you have found a way to access that tricky little devil, you can do the miraculous. Well, it’s only miraculous because most people don’t understand how it works.

from Google Images

from Google Images

You will find that when you ferret out those pesky beliefs that have kept weight with you, and you are able to transmute, or heal, them, you will change. Your feelings about yourself and your life will change. Changing what you eat will become easy because you won’t be fighting yourself anymore. Weight will easily fall off.

The kicker will be to find a way to get down to the level where the trouble really is; your subconscious. There are a number of people out there who are gifted with clairvoyance, who can help in this endeavor. They have the ability to see beyond our physical world. Hypnosis is one of the most effective modalities that’s helped me. And working with a skilled hypnotherapist makes all of the difference. Some people have used a modality called Tapping (Emotional Freedom Technique) to facilitate healing. And there are consciousness technologies such as Matrix Energetics that can be effective as well.

The great thing about actually healing why you are overweight, is that you will heal issues that no doubt affect your life in other ways. Some of your problems will actually disappear because you will have dealt with them. Other problems will still be there until addressed, for sure. But as a person who has had a life of issues with food, these are things I have learned after a ton of trial and error.

This past spring, I had a major healing breakthrough and have been able to easily and dramatically change my eating habits. Since that time I definitely feel different inside (in a good way). However, with the advent of school starting up last month, and with my son, Little Man, having some big struggles over the past several weeks (around school), something in me has decided to act up in response to his difficulties.

This has shown up in my life as my snacking a little more than I would like, and not being as diligent with taking time to prepare the more balance meals I had been eating throughout the spring and summer. I’ve been feeling more discombobulated and ungrounded, and becoming easily overwhelmed and inactive. Seeing and knowing this, I will definitely be returning to do more work with my hypnotherapist in the next few months. Until then, I’m hanging in there, still very slowly dropping weight (70 lbs. to date), and trying to not become mired down in Little Man’s issues. (Yes, this is a big life lesson for me).

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Energy Therapy, Holistic Healing, Hypnosis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why Keeping Weight Off Is Such A Struggle

  1. emjayandthem says:

    So well said! You are tapping into something powerful here – the knowledge that the weight serves a purposes … unlocking it, I think that’s key isn’t it?

    70lbs! You rock!!
    MJ

    • Thanks MJ. Every behavior we have, whether we see it as desirable or not, came about to serve a purpose. At times, that behavior was created when we were very, very young. And when we, as an adult, can look at the situation around which a belief and behavior were originally created, we realize that what we once believed is no longer true for us, or no longer needed. But because it’s neatly tucked away in the subconscious, we are usually not aware of the real reason we do certain things.

  2. This is fantastic! Well said, and bravo on your weight loss progress so far.

    Xo
    S

  3. CBurns says:

    I’m glad you mentioned the whole will power factor. As a recovering alcoholic I can tell you I’m a very strong willful person and I could NOT stop on my own!! Asking and getting help that will help get to the core is key as you mention here. Great piece and congrats on your progress. Very inspirational! Ps you’re a fantastic mom 😉

    • Thank you Cheryl! I so wish that the counseling community, when treating addictions would use people and methods that have the capacity to see outside of what we are consciously aware of. They already know that a huge percentage of our behaviors are driven by our subconscious, and yet, all they use is talk therapy (for the most part).

      I have personally experienced a lifetime of the unquenchable craving for food that would only be soothed by food (for so many others it’s alcohol, and with others it’s drugs, sex, or shoplifting, or whatever). And I have also experienced that craving absolutely disappear overnight, like pulling up a massive dandelion that had a six foot tap root. Decades of talk therapy could not have done this for me. I will have to write about what I uncovered during a hypnosis session that contributed in a huge way to my turning to food.

  4. candidkay says:

    Seventy pounds! Congratulations to you. I’ve lost seven in two weeks and that feels good but it is hard to continue to find foods that I can have and enjoy. I take it one day at a time–one meal at a time.

  5. Thanks Kay! And yes, the first few weeks, trying to adjust to the new “normal” of what to eat (especially when looking to grab a quick snack) is definitely an adjustment. Sounds like you’re off and running! Congratulations to you.

    I found that with dropping all sugar, after a while, I didn’t and don’t really miss it. In fact, the other day I had some honey roasted nuts and after eating twice as many nuts as I would normally eat, I threw them out. And I noticed afterwards that I didn’t like eating all the sugar.

    And the more than great news that I got the other day at my annual check up is that my blood sugar (which was just barely up into the prediabetes level back in July), is now fully into the range of normal! From full blown type 2 diabetes to smack dab normal in six months!

    Keep up the great work! Look for those resources that will give you meal and snack ideas that you will be able to eat. For me, my diet was severely restricted for the first six weeks, and then loosened up just a little bit after that. I came across a cookbook for people with food sensitivities, and have gotten ideas and recipes to use. I even stumbled on a food blog of a woman I went to high school with, who is now a dietitian who specializes in helping people with IBS, and her recipes often work for me because of their being non-dairy.

  6. Very perceptive and informative, Susan. Interestingly, 2 bloggers I know and like wrote about weight loss this week! Jean Day Friday did too. 😉

  7. I’m working on figuring out what triggers my eating and changing my eating lifestyle. My therapist said something to me a couple of weeks ago that almost killed me and then almost immediately put an end to self-injury and crazy eating. I’ve had some lapses, but I feel like a changed woman. She said, “you are continuing to abuse that child inside you by continuing your eating pattern an self-injury.” BAM!

    • If it was helpful to you, that’s a good thing. If my therapist told me I was abusing myself, I think I’d look for another therapist. It reminds me of using a shock collar on a dog; it might get the desired affect, but how does it heal the injured inner child?

      I say this because I have learned that what drives our behavior is 99% subconscious. As such, the conscious mind does not see what is going on (hence the name subconscious). So, to figure out my triggers, I found a modality that accesses the unconscious mind. I say this with love and with resolve because I’ve worked with traditional therapists and I’ve worked with “energy” therapists. The latter can access the unconscious. In my experience, regular therapists can help give you perspective on things, but their training is not one of accessing the unconscious unless they use hypnosis.

      I’m currently writing about my latest hypnotherapy sessions, and will be posting one probably Monday. You can search my blog by category or the search box if you want to read more of my healing journey. I’ve come a very long way. https://mariner2mother.wordpress.com/2014/02/27/uncovering-a-mystery/ this entry chronicles the session where I uncovered my food addiction. Blogs I wrote shortly after that, talk about more sessions and the tremendous progress I experienced a year ago. I am a big fan of digging in deep, shifting and healing unconscious beliefs that have driven my behaviors for decades, and doing it permanently and quickly.

      For most of my life, I blocked out most of my childhood. As I’ve followed my healing path, I now know that being verbally assaulted from the time I was a toddler caused me to block out a lot of memories. Other abuse came later and I was definitely old enough to remember it. The latest healing session I had was very powerful and healed years of this abuse that physically lodged in my stomach by giving me years of severe acid reflux. I’ll be writing about it fairly soon. I don’t know if there is a Reiki circle anywhere near where you live. If so, groups like this often give short (15- 20 min.) Reiki sessions to the public either for free or for a small donation. It’s mighty powerful stuff. https://www.fiverr.com/mefk12/send-you-distance-reiki is a link to an amazing Reiki Master I know (not in person, yet), who will send you Reiki energy for $5 if you want to even try it. Might help with things like anxiety in particular.

      I am holding you in my heart and am thrilled for any and all of your progress.

Share your thoughts.

