What Is It About A Photograph?

I should have probably titled this post, what is it about a scene that screams out to me to snap a photo of it, to freeze it in time for posterity. But that was just a tad too long. Seriously. Sometimes I wonder what is it that makes me want to take a photo of something. For me, it’s often more than just, “oh, that’s pretty,” or “hmm, that’s interesting.” For me it’s often straight from my gut or from my heart.

I’ll see the perfection of nature of a single bloom.

peach orange rose

Or I’ll notice the way light and color play with clouds and reflect the color on the ocean. And if they are colors we don’t usually see, so much the better.

 pink sunset

For me, the urge to take a photograph can grab me when I least expect it, like as I’m leaving my house, taking my child to school. I walk out the door and, whammo! There are the most amazing rays of the sun, only visible because of some morning fog. I know that they won’t be there long, so I hustle the kid to school (thankfully, a 4 minute round trip), run back inside and grab my gear.

Suns Rays

Then there are the times when I’m out in nature, soaking up the sun and the air on a picture perfect day, something happens and I’m lucky enough to catch the action. Just recently, we were at a beach about an hour from home, and seagulls were feasting on clams at low tide. The gulls would peck in the sand until they struck gold, and fly off with their treasure, looking for a spot to dine. I’ve rarely seen a seagull flying off with a clam, but that day I froze the action.

seagull with clam

There are some things that happen so fast, we barely get to glimpse them. Stopping hummingbirds long enough to see their feathers always intrigues me. Some of their feathers are quite reflective and bright, lighting up their throat when the sun hits them just right. In this photo, you can see that those feathers look quite different from the others. (Click on the photo to see it larger).

roufus hummingbird

Some days, I love to get up close and personal with Mother Nature. The most mundane things can capture my attention. Especially drops of water.

fern water drops

So just what is it that springs forth from me, wanting to capture a moment in time? I’m not really sure, but there is something there that make me feel, “oh, wow!” or “ahhh” or “too cool!” or “too cute” and I want to hold onto that feeling just a bit longer. I’ll leave you with one of my favorite photos of one of my favorite subjects, my son, when he was little.

Little Man.

Little Man.

Do you have a passion for taking photos? Do tell!

As a reminder, these photos are my work, and as such are copyrighted to me. If you would like to use one, please feel free to contact me (email is in the About Me page).

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Is It About A Photograph?

  1. janonlife says:

    Such beautiful pictures xx

  2. Your photos show your passion about photography. It is a beautiful thing to feel so strongly about something so evocative.

  3. Pretty photos. As you know, I do love taking pictures. I also love to be out in nature, it’s so peaceful. Where I live our backyard is basically rolling farmland so I get loads of gorgeous sunsets all the time.

    • Yes, I once (or twice) saw your photo blog. I’m envious that you get the sunsets. I live in a hole, basically. We have a small mountain to the north, another one to the east, 100+ ft. tall trees right behind the house, and tons more at the end of the yard that stretches out to the west. No vistas from the house, especially at this time of year when the trees have leaves. But I don’t have to drive far to get to rolling farmland, and just a little bit further to the ocean. Around here, the farmland goes almost right up to the ocean. In the not too distant future, I’ll be able to watch the sunrise over the Atlantic.

  4. Beautiful pictures, it’s no wonder you felt compelled to take these.

Share your thoughts.

