Life Is Change

Back when I worked on the ocean, I saw days where the seas were FAC (flat-ass calm). Like a mill pond. I saw extremely high seas in one particularly bad storm, and I’ve ridden everything in between. During the storm, we were all put to the test, challenging our seamanship skills to the max. Seven ships went down. Our captain spent the entire night on the bridge, on the throttles. There was one moment when the ship caught a wave and rolled quite far to one side. As the ship hung and we waited for her to right herself, several of us wondered if this was the moment just before the ship rolls over. Slowly, she came back up.

One thing certain about the ocean; it’s in a constant state of change and flux. You can prepare as best you can, but you won’t know just what to do until that storm hits. And once it does, all you can do is batten down the hatches, steer the safest course and ride it out. When it subsides, you pick up the broken glass, weld the cracked bulkheads, restow the shifted cargo, and carry on, with another sea story to tell and experience under your belt. Such is life.

copyright mariner2mother

copyright mariner2mother

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Inspirational Quote, The Voyage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Life Is Change

  1. The Hook says:

    I couldn’t agree more.
    Beautifully written and conveyed.

  2. The ocean (and nature’s unexpected ways) as a metaphor for life… I love this. 🙂

  3. janonlife says:

    Despite your blog’s title, i sometimes forget the part the sea has played in forging the person you now are. It’s such a gift to be able to pick up life’s most dramatic experiences and use them as lessons and metaphors for what happens next. That’s true progress.
    A beautifully crafted post x

  4. candidkay says:

    Can I pay you to follow me around and say this exact thing to me when I get stressed? 🙂

    • Absolutely!! Feel free to print the graphic out and put it wherever you need it. I wrote this because things are bumpy right now, but I know it will pass. Just not liking being in the middle of it.

  5. James says:

    I couldn’t agree more with what you have written. Keep up the great work! I’d love it if you could look at my Christian blog too – rcghub.wordpress.com

  6. First of all, I will always be in awe that you were a mariner. I’m a Pisces, but the ocean scares the living sh*t out of me. Hats off to you, Susan…that’s pure guts and bravery.
    Secondly, you’ve so beautifully written this. I love the natural metaphor the water presents, and love even more how you equate our daily stresses to riding out the storm, battening down the hatches. This is one of my favorite pieces of yours ever…with my favorite posted right below.
    Gorgeous!
    Michelle

    • Thanks Michelle! I love metaphors and the ocean just works in so many ways. I’ve always had such an affinity to the ocean that I don’t think I could stand to live too far from it (at least, not for long).

  7. leroxz says:

    Thanks for this post wonderfully written I love your perspective and couldn’t agree more

Share your thoughts.

