When We Write, What We Write About

As a person who usually writes about my life, I was inspired by reading something another blogger wrote as she wrote about how she finds it easier to write when times are tough, than when things are going good. As if, when things are good, there’s nothing to gripe or moan about. And we all love a good gripe.

As I thought about it, I realized that I used to bitch and whine and moan and groan a lot. In fact, when I sailed on ships, it’s what most mariners I knew did extremely well. And when I wonder why, I truly have no idea. But over the past few years, I’d have to say that the way I view life has shifted quite a bit, and with a lot more peace in my heart, I don’t feel the need to complain nearly as much.

copyright mariner2mother

copyright mariner2mother

It must be because things that used to bug me and nag at me at every turn, these days just don’t. Sure, stuff gets under my skin. I get my hackles up. My fear meter jumps up. But I don’t tend to stay there for long. I guess I can move through those moments with more grace and ease and don’t get stuck in so many of them as I used to.

I think that with a perspective that sees life’s challenges as learning opportunities, instead of my sitting in a pity pot (or a place where I give my personal power away), I find ways to figure out how to grow. Yes, that’s definitely different for me these days. I got very used to playing the role of victim because I was never allowed to have personal power or self-determination when I was growing up. It was all I knew.

Sometimes, when I’m going through something, I can’t write about it until I’m out the other side and have gotten some perspective about it and have figured out just what’s happened. And even months or years later I glean even more honey.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been integrating new energies from a particularly intense healing session, and simultaneously enjoying the increased peace and freedom it’s brought. Because I’m still feeling very much “in process” with this one, I will write in more detail when I get a bit further out, with more perspective. In the meantime, I am understanding more and more about ways I wanted to grow in this lifetime, like letting go of fear of being judged and having patience.  And just knowing that, I’m more at peace… at least sometimes.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Holistic Healing, The Voyage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to When We Write, What We Write About

  1. my4daughters says:

    Thank you for your affirmation of my thoughts and for the pingback to my site. Yes, indeed, I think we need to focus on happiness more. In hindsight, it seems a no-brainer to focus our energies on positive thoughts. I need to control the moment, not let the moment control me.

    • You’re very welcome. I’ve found that whatever is inside us, what’s in our heart the most in any moment, is what we tend to focus on, not visa versa. With concentration, we can adjust our focus; like when people make gratitude lists. And we can even create new habits in this way. But as I’ve healed my heart, I’ve noticed an organic change in my self talk and in the thoughts that run through my mind.

  2. Kisma says:

    It’s so easy to focus on the negative verses the positive. I find when I’m being petty in my mind to write it down but just not share it. Then later at the end of the day, I go back and read all my notes and have a good laugh.

    I love both of this posts. Thanks for sharing.

  3. candidkay says:

    Oh, I love hearing this. I have been doing A Course in Miracles and it is changing me in similar ways. Such a shift . . .

    • Awesome for you! I’ve never done A Course in Miracles, but have though about it since Marianne Williamson talks about it and wrote A Return To Love after doing it (I haven’t read that either yet). Frankly, doing another series of hypnotherapy has been creating my own life’s miracles – and Jesus popped in on my last session to fill me with love – it was beyond amazing and left me a puddle of tears. You go girl!!

  4. lnr03 says:

    I realize while reading your post, I write when I am stressed, when I have something to gripe about. I do write happy things also but way less often and seemingly with less passion.. Thats for the eye opening 🙂

  5. The Oracle Jasmine Kyle says:

    Wow Great Post! I have PTSD and I can tell you checking your body’s emotional temperature is something that I have worked my BUTT OFF! If it will help you I have a support group with no members called the Black Nail Society. We paint one of our nails pitch black and every time you see the black nail you check your body’s emotional state. Maybe your sitting in a way that hurts maybe your watching the news while this is on and something disturbing comes on… anyway it helps you catch those moments when your starting to get agitated before you build up to much.
    Anyway hope that helps and is not to busy body! FEEL WELL!!!

    • Jasmine, welcome! Thanks for sharing one of your coping skills. We all need help, and you never know where it will come from. So glad to hear you’re working on your own journey as well (rather than allowing the world to completely do TO you). Kudos! My next post will be a book review that you might find interesting 😉

  6. colourwhirls says:

    Beautifully written! Pity pot.. haha!
    Keep your creative side flowing!

Share your thoughts.

