Spring Bulb Flowers

It’s that time again! The valley is starting its big bloom, with daffodil fields fully in bloom and starting to fade. My favorite display garden recently opened it’s doors, with daffodils, narcissus, and hyacinths among the early flowers in bloom. There were even a few of the earliest tulips gracing us with a display of colors.

There are several fields around the Skagit Valley where bulb growers plan millions of bulbs that will end up as cut flowers and as bulbs for sale.

In a few weeks, the rest of the early tulips will have passed, and the mid and late-blooming tulips will be doing their thing.

My ideal spring garden would be two-fold. Part of it would be rainbows and blazes of seasonal colors, while it would be interspersed with fragrant hyacinths, narcissus, and lily of the valley. But more than gardening, I love photographing nature. It doesn’t matter if it’s capturing flowers, trees, rocks, water, landscapes, close-ups, or macro photography (extreme close-up). I love it all.

Do you garden? Do you look forward to spring? Has spring sprung where you live?

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spring Bulb Flowers

  1. candidkay says:

    I’d love to see fields like these! One of the things on my bucket list is to see a field of French lavender. Would love to breathe it in while having a picnic . . .

    • That sounds lovely. We have a small lavender farm about 45 min from us. And over on the Olympic peninsula they have a lavender festival that I’ve always wanted to go to.

  2. janonlife says:

    Glorious photos! I’m just about to don a jacket and boots and head out to plant up my new shade garden behind the pond. It’s under a north-facing old stone wall, so very sheltered and rather damp, but I went to a rare plants fair yesterday and came back with a gorgeous assortment of ferns, anemones and other shade lovers. Sun’s shining at the moment, so should be a good day!

    • Happy planting! I chuckle when people buy ferns, especially in my area, because we have so many around here, wild. And I have at least 3 varieties on our property. I love them.

  3. I saw that you had changed your facebook cover pic, so I knew you’d have something beautiful here waiting for us. You have so many gifts, Susan. I love these gorgeous, yellow fields of yours. Wouldn’t we have so much fun living closer? I’ll grow the flowers, and you take their pictures. Friends for life 🙂

    • OMG that so works for me!! (I’ve found gardening here extremely frustrating). And every now and then we could break out our chainsaws and fell a tree, buck it and split it up for firewood – or cut up a blow down. I’ve rented serious gas powered splitters for the big jobs, but my favorite manual splitter is what I refer to as a lady splitter: it works like a concussion slide hammer. It’s about 4+ ft. long with a sliding weight at the top and the splitting part at the bottom. Works like a charm with no throwing the back out or missing the center of the log. And the first one I bought is called Anaconda!

  4. Ooooh, thanks for the eye candy! It makes me so happy to see all the blooming and sprouting! Peonies are my all-time favorites and I can’t wait until they bloom in my yard. 🙂

  5. Spring started to spring where I am, then we got several inches of snow! I hope my daffodils and tulips make it through. The foliage is still green and perky, no buds yet, so maybe they’re still safe.

Share your thoughts.

