Happiness Is…

Late Day Tulip Field (copyright mariner2mother)

Late Day Tulip Field (copyright mariner2mother)

Happiness is reaching out, helping lift someone’s spirits.

Happiness is feeling better today than yesterday.

Happiness is a transient state of mind. It comes and goes.

I am grateful for when happiness is here, and for when it returns.

Happiness is a funny and fickle thing.

Little things make me happy. And little things can close me off to it.

Happiness feels good. To me, it’s a young cousin to Joy.

Joy feels deeper and more solemn. Happiness is light and bubbly, like Ginger Ale.

This morning, I received a correspondence that giving of myself was well received. I gave from my heart, and it was received with gratitude. That made me very happy. Extremely happy, in fact.

A few more things that make me happy in this very moment are:

looking out my window to a rhododendron bush beginning to bloom,

My early rhodie. (copyright mariner2mother)

My early rhodie. (copyright mariner2mother)

seeing the lawn that has recently been cut and doesn’t need another mow quite yet,

looking out my kitchen window into a bush where a robin is building a nest,

and thinking about the few moments over the past 2 1/2 months when my Little Man is able to find his happiness again. They are few and far between right now, but are increasing.

What is making you happy in this moment? What was the last thing that made you happy? Do you feel that you can make a conscious choice to be happy when you’re not?

 

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Mental Health, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happiness Is…

  1. I really try to see the good and the positive side of things each and every day. I find it more energetic as well as healthier when I make myself happy 🙂 Happy Weekend – Enjoy!

  2. I’m the happiest I’ve been in years. I feel healthier and my family makes me happy. Plus spring is here!

  3. I am simply happy that you are happy! 🙂

  4. Happiness is inside you..

Share your thoughts.

