I Still See You: A Letter To My Son

A little over a year ago, my son was having an extremely difficult time in school, and I read an article that sparked this letter to him: I See You, A Letter To My Son.

Even though it’s only been a year since then, so much has happened that I wanted to write a new letter to my son.

To My Beautiful and Amazing Son,

You’ve been to hell and back recently, haven’t you. I wanted you to know that I see how brave you have been.

I see how brave you are to allow a blood draw, when I know the thought of it terrifies you.

I see how strong you are when you wake up every day to a brain that still calls anxiety it’s go-to feeling, and you manage most days to flip a switch and leave that bitch at the curb.

And on days when anxiety just won’t let you alone, I see how messed up it makes you feel. And it’s ok.

I see how you white knuckled it through school all those years, to please me, your teachers, and everyone else.

And I see that you couldn’t do it a second longer.

I see you white knuckle it through dentist visits and hair cuts because of sensory overload, discomfort and pain.

I see your patience with me as I fumble along, trying to figure out how to navigate the new and unexpected.

And even when you don’t want to take one more supplement pill or capsule, I see you do it anyway, because right now, they are critical.

I see the independent teenager you are becoming, simultaneously being the boy who still needs his mom every now and then.

I see that when you are excited to learn about something, you pour yourself into it with everything you have and are. And that’s what education should look like: excitement.

I see that it takes your brain a little bit longer to process certain new information, and that you struggle with that particularly because otherwise, your brain goes so unbelievably fast.

I see how much in your young life is a struggle and is painful, and I understand that the glass is often half empty.

And I see your heart, when I’m having a tough day and all you want is for me to feel better.

I see your potential as unlimited, because with your golden heart, your drive, and your intellect, you are most definitely going places in this world. I don’t know where you’ll end up or how you’re going to get there, but I know it will be amazing. As amazing as you are.

 

 

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Mental Health, Spirituality, The Voyage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Still See You: A Letter To My Son

  1. susielindau says:

    You are both very amazing people. What a beautiful letter.

  2. Just beautiful, Sue; your son is very lucky… as are you. xo

  3. The Hook says:

    You’ve left me speechless…

Share your thoughts.

