How Do You Handle Life’s “Holy Shit!” Moments?

Lately, I’ve been thinking about how people handle moments in life that you don’t expect; the ones that sneak up from behind and whack you over the head with a two-by-four. Or moments that you see coming, fiercely denying their eventual arrival.

I’ve had a handful of those moments; some I knew would hit me one day, and I totally dreaded them, and some I never saw coming.

How were they handled? Well, when I was young, I basically took a back seat and let life drive right over me, squashing me along the way.

I see some adults handle things this way, taking a victim stance. Giving up any and every bit of power they have, believing they have no option other than to roll over and let life do to them.

These days, I’m in the driver’s seat. Sure, I might have a few days of panic and freak-out, but I have a new trust in the Universe. A trust that I can find answers and solutions, and that things will eventually work out. Where does this trust come from? It came from learning to trust my intuition.

We all have it, intuition, but just what is it?

It’s the connection to information that is beyond your five senses. It’s when you allow your spirit guides, guardian angels, and other protective and guiding beings in spirit, and God communicate to you. Well, truth be told, they communicate with us all the time, but we often don’t listen or trust what we get.

How do you recognize intuition?

It’s that gut feeling. It’s the synchronistic events in your life. It’s the impulse to take a different route home, that ends up keeping you safe. It’s the whisper in the back of your head that tells you to go right, when logic tells you to go left. It’s the messages you get from your heart.

As well as trusting my intuition, I trust that when I need information, it will come to me (or I’ll find it). Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.

As I’ve asked, answers have come. And I ask a lot of questions. As I’ve looked for guidance, it has arrived. Information comes to me. I sift through what comes, and use a combination of my rational and reasoning mind, with my feeling heart, to see what’s right for me.

And finally, I trust in grace. For me, grace is taking a step back so that the highest good can drop in. It’s about knowing that I’m not ultimately in control. Sure, I’m a very powerful being, but there is only so much I can control, and only so much I should control. I am, however, still working on having patience for grace to show up sometimes; but we’re all a work in progress, aren’t we?

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Holistic Healing, Spirituality, The Voyage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How Do You Handle Life’s “Holy Shit!” Moments?

  1. bethanyk says:

    Beautifully written

  2. Well said. I don’t think my intuition has steered me wrong much so far…

    • Thanks Darla. I was just thinking about the difference between how I handled having to take the kid out of school this year versus how I would have handled it five years ago. A lot more grace now, for sure. I only freaked out for a weekend. By Monday, my sheer terror had dropped to a moderate panic. Now, I’m excited about the kid’s future, even though I’m still a little bit nervous.

  3. janonlife says:

    Yes, that intuition is like a muscle, isn’t it. The more we use it, the stronger it gets… ❤

  4. The Hook says:

    Your wisdom is beautiful, my friend.

  5. jamivee says:

    I loved reading this! Perfect choice of words:)

    • Thanks. What opening up spiritually, and doing healing work has done for me isn’t taking life’s tough stuff away. It’s given me way more grace and ease to be able to make it through.

Share your thoughts.

