Seasons Are Beginning To Change

The weather is beginning to cool with the smell of composting leaves wafting through the air. I love this time of year; when the heat of summer has passed and the crisp chill of winter hasn’t arrived yet. Growing up, it meant new outfits, and back to school. Today it means the blueberries are gone, the blackberries are passing and the apple’s aren’t quite ready yet.

salmonberry leaf

Today was a beautiful day to walk around our place. Leaves are just beginning to turn colors and drop. Here in Washington state, most of our trees don’t give us the autumn show that I grew up with in New England, but the blueberries bushes are looking spectacular.

blueberry bush

Walking down the yard, there were a few critters enjoying the grass and the day. Because we don’t have a dog, rabbits freely inhabit our yard. And with recent rains, there is no shortage of slugs.

Our dwarf apple tree is laden with fruit still waiting to turn red. Because I haven’t tended the tree, this is one of the few apples that isn’t covered with brown spots.

apple

At the end of our yard is a small river. Later in the fall and early winter, it becomes spawning ground for salmon. But, this time of year the water runs low with a few tiny fish swimming around.

the river

One of my favorite views is up the yard, standing down by the river. Firs and cedars tower over our house.

house

Before we know it, the rains of winter will be here, complete with clouds that touch the treetops for days on end. But until that time, we still have several beautiful days to enjoy. Here’s a short video of the shallows in the river.

 

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seasons Are Beginning To Change

  1. janonlife says:

    Beautiful images ❤

  2. The Oracle says:

    I’m SO Excited For Fall!

  3. Oh Susan!! We truly are sisters. I love Autumn and I especially love the way you’ve captured the transition with your pictures and your beautiful words. I sit here trying to determine which is my favorite photo and I just can’t!
    Gorgeous post all around 🙂

Share your thoughts.

