Winter In The Pacific Northwest

The winter rains have arrived.

Darkness falls before we are ready.

Clouds dip down until they blanket treetops.

Wet is everywhere.

Light tries to filter through thick clouds.

But it is reflected back to the sky.

The salmon are returning

To begin the next cycle.

Eagles scavenge the rivers for carcasses

Dropping bits of uneaten fish from trees.

Remnants of an eagle's feast, found on my lawn beneath a large tree.

Remnants of an eagle’s feast, found on my lawn beneath a large tree.

Leaves have left their branches

And compost on the ground

Joining the decaying fish

Creating the soup

That will fertilize spring’s new growth.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a creative adult son, a former merchant ship's deck officer, and a wife. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki Level 2 attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. My most recent adventure has me navigating a very challenging Kundalini Awakening.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Winter In The Pacific Northwest

  1. Nice! Other than the fish head in the yard … nice! 🙂

  2. tedstrutz says:

    This is a nice way to start reading a blog new to me. I can relate to the feeling, and love the last two lines.

  3. I like the poetic bend you took here Susan; something you don’t do as often. Really lovely!

  4. Hi Susan! I feel sort of dense for not realizing sooner that you live in the Pacific Northwest, too. I’m just south of Seattle.

    “Darkness falls before we are ready.” This is my favorite line from your poem. It describes exactly how I’ve been feeling since we changed the clocks.

  5. The Hook says:

    Beautiful imagery – even the fish head.

Share your thoughts.