Giving Thanks Tonight

Suns Rays

Here it is, on the eve of Thanksgiving here in the US, and it’s easy for me to find many things to be thankful and grateful for. I am fortunate in so many ways, from having a stable home to live in, with a loving and healthy family, to having friends both in real life and online, with whom I share my life.

I am so very thankful to be where I am in regards to my life’s journey; with so much healing under my belt at this point. Yes, there is always more, but when I think about who I was a decade ago, there is no comparison.

Having experienced many different cultures and countries through traveling, I am grateful for the things in everyday life that I don’t have to think about, like having mostly reliable electricity, clean running water, and a dependable food supply, that are not always so available in some countries I’ve been to. And equally grateful for the luxuries I have, like a nice camera, a dependable car and other creative outlets, like soapmaking.

Having experienced a lot of contrast in life, there were times, mostly in my younger years, when it was much harder to be thankful for my life and things going on in it. But I’m grateful for those times now, because I understand that my life had a plan that has been beautifully unfolding as it was designed. And to be where I am today, I had to go through what I did back then. Judging any part of it as bad or wrong, is not what we are here to do.

I am so very grateful to know that every step of my life has been valid and holds value; as does every step of your life, no matter what it feels like right now.

One of the things I’m most grateful for these days, is having woken up spiritually, seeing the world and my life through a different lens. Knowing that I have the power to create real and meaningful and lasting change in my life, if I so desire, because I have done just this. I know that life is not done to me; it is lived and created through me.

Have a happy Thanksgiving Day to my American friends, and a great Thursday to those abroad.

 

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in inspiration, The Voyage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giving Thanks Tonight

  1. jamivee says:

    Yes! I too am grateful for waking up. I always laughed at people like me, because you don’t know until you know. And once you know, that’s all you need.

    Happy Thanksgiving:)

  2. The Hook says:

    Thanks, old friend.

Share your thoughts.

