What If: Contrast?

What if you couldn’t know joy without sorrow?

What if you couldn’t know peace without turmoil?

What if you couldn’t appreciate being able to breathe
unless you experienced times when you couldn’t breathe?

What if experiencing these contrasting feelings
makes life so much sweeter?

What if unless and until you experience contrasting feelings
you don’t know life?

What if unless and until you experience contrasting feelings,
you don’t know yourself?

What if the primary reason we are all here is to experience this contrast
in our feelings, so we can know ourselves more and more?

What if the bigger the contrast, the sweeter the experience,
the more we know ourselves?

What if?

Imagine the possibilities!

contrast

 

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in inspiration, Inspirational Quote, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What If: Contrast?

  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    My thought as I was reading this was that these aren’t ‘what if’s’, but life’s everyday experience. The challenge is to learn and appreciate from the lows then gratefully embrace the highs.
    I loved this post.

    • Thanks for dropping by. Yes, for me these really aren’t questions, but rather how life truly goes. Instead of just putting the ideas out there, I invite people to ponder the possibility of ‘what if’?

  2. I am digging your “what if” series. You (as always) make so much sense. Thank you!
    And, speaking of ‘thank you’…I received your sweet present this weekend!! I have read the book, BUT it only sits on my Kindle. I love that I have the physical book so that I can make notes and mark pages. You are so considerate – thank you for your friendship and insight. You are the best. xoxoxo

Share your thoughts.

