Shooting Eagles

Photography has been a lifelong passion, and lately, my son and I have been getting into videography. He’s been totally rocking flying drones, working on his piloting skills and also his videography skills. As he edits and puts together more videos, his editing skills will grow as well. Wouldn’t you know it, but his excitement about videos is rubbing off on me.

My photography passion began with shooting stills, capturing the moment. No sound. No movement. Just the moment. I shot pictures with whatever camera I had, and when I was in my twenties and had a full-time job, I moved up to a single lens reflex camera. The kind where you can switch lenses. It was amazing!

Because I took a 3 week long class studying humpback whales, and we were going to live on a schooner for a good part of the class, I bought a zoom lens: 70mm- 200mm. Incredible! I could take something that was far away, and bring it up nice and close, filling the frame. The whale was no longer a small black blob, I could get right up close to its mouth when it was feeding.

As my life went on, photography was always an interest, but it wasn’t as convenient and portable as it is today. I wish I’d taken a bunch of pictures when I was working on ships. There were so many cool things I saw that remain only in my memory.

Over the past six or seven months, my son’s passion about flying his drone and shooting pictures and videos from the air is igniting a passion in me. The perspective of shooting something from a few hundred feet up is amazing. And looking at a drone video is like being able to fly. (Note the new header banner photo that I shot the day before Christmas).

It’s my intention to create more of my own videos using drone footage, but until I do that, here’s a video that I edited (with DJI’s Go App), using my son’s footage. The music comes with the app, and editing with their editor is ridiculously easy. The YouTube channel where this video is posted is my son’s, and he has about a dozen very short (about a minute or two) drone videos he’s created so far.

The past month or so has been salmon spawning time where we live. And because of that, there are many eagles around, eating the dead and dying fish. Easy pickings. I’ve been snapping away, mostly with a smaller point and shoot camera that lives in my purse, because it’s convenient. It’s a decent little number, has a kick-ass zoom capability, and can shoot video as well.

When I use a lot of zoom to capture something far away, the resulting photo isn’t nearly as crisp and clean as when I use my big guns (Canon 70D), but as I already said, having a point and shoot camera with me just about all the time, means I’m going to get shots that I’d otherwise miss.

You wouldn’t believe the amount of eagle (and other bird) captures I’ve gotten on the way to or coming home from grocery shopping. Or sitting here in my living room, writing, glancing out the window.

I think that if I’m going to make any New Year’s Resolutions at all, other than getting my now teenage son’s bedroom moved to a larger, more private room in our house, I’d like to put more attention and effort into shooting, editing and sharing videos. Yes, and some more stills as well.

Here’s something I shot yesterday to get you going. As I was sitting, writing, I noticed movement out a window that points to our back yard, which is transected by a small river that salmon spawn in. A bald eagle flew from the river to a massive fir tree that sits about a hundred feet or so from the house.

I was wearing my bathrobe and slippers, and stepped outside to the deck. Staying under the eve overhang, to protect the lens from rain (as it’s almost always raining here this time of year), I captured a few short videos. Enjoy this short playlist.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shooting Eagles

  1. susielindau says:

    Love the videos! You live in a very cool area. 🙂

  2. jamivee says:

    So cool! And also kind of neat to hear what your voice sounds like!

  3. I loved hearing your voice!!
    I am so going to enjoy more of your photos and videos (and your son’s, too). You are a natural, my friend and WE get to reap the benefits of your artistic eye 🙂

    • Thanks! I need to find my handicam so I can get better video. The color integrity of my point and shoot is pretty weak, but better than nothing. My son has a great eye for pictures and for video. And now that we invested in a good desktop computer, he can edit very high resolution video for his YouTube channel. I want to work with him on editing, working with the music more; doing things like cutting to the next clip just at the downbeat of the music, for a more dramatic look and feel. The video of my son’s that I shared here is his filming, but I edited it. All the rest of his channel is 100% his work.

      Because editing video takes much longer than a photo, I hope that I don’t get too discouraged and peter out with creating videos. I think that if I keep in mind to keep them sweet and short (under 2 min), that will keep me from becoming overwhelmed. Sort of like writing a blog piece instead of an entire book.

  4. MollyB111 says:

    These videos are AMAZING! Love the perfect music and video sync. What a treat with the bald eagle!! What an awesome mom your are and this made me so happy. Thank you for sharing. Zoom zoom on!! ❤

Share your thoughts.

