Video Interlude

Living in one of the wettest and most cloudy areas of our country (in the winter), presents a host of challenges for photographers. I’ll admit it, I’m a fair weather photographer, for the most part. I don’t want to have to wrap all my gear and myself in waterproof wrappings. But, I do like to have some sort of camera handy almost all the time.

I live in the woods, with our home surrounded by trees that grow to a hundred feet and taller. And besides that, we’re in a bit of a hollow, in the lowlands where a small river flows. With all of this beauty and splendor, our view of sunset is far above any horizon. I do miss my days on the sea, when there’s a spectacular sunset or rise. Not only is the view of clouds reflecting all manner of oranges, reds, and purples, up high in the sky, but at this time of year, it’s fleeting, lasting maybe fifteen minutes.

Late yesterday afternoon, as I glanced westward out the front window, I noticed the day’s light rays bending into yellow. Quick as a bunny, I grabbed my GoPro and a small tripod, putting the camera into time-lapse video mode. I tripped over a pair of Crocks by the door, and stumbled outside with my gear, ready to capture the splendor to come. But where to set it up?

The ground? No. Need to crank the angle of the camera really high into the sky, and I didn’t want to lay belly-down on the sopping lawn to frame it right. The deck? Nope. Bushes are in the way, and the table is still put away for winter. Aha! The grill! High enough to miss most of the bushes, and no crawling on my tummy.

With the ultra-wide angle, it captured trees on both sides of the yard, a tiny bit of a nearby mountain, and the tops of the bushes. I’m happy with that frame. Easy part was next: push the go button and go back inside until sunset’s amazingness wasn’t quite so amazing.

Here’s what I got, with a little editing, including speeding it up a bit. First time shooting a time-lapse. Easy and fun! Enjoy!! (It’s quick – just one minute).

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Video Interlude

  1. George VDD says:

    Awesome! The time lapse feature that GoPro offers is pretty spectacular. I was just using it this past myself.

  2. janonlife says:

    Beautiful! I get amazing sunsets from my studio. Don’t have the equipment to film them though, so thanks for sharing yours.

  3. The Hook says:

    It may have been brief – but it was touching nonetheless.
    Well done.

    • Thanks Robert. Since my son and I have taken to making short videos, it’s been quite an adventure in looking for music that is free or almost, that we can use without violating copyright. We have a few programs that come with a handful of music pieces, and most are 30 seconds or a minute long. This one was short.

  4. jamivee says:

    Beautiful! And I love the music:)

Share your thoughts.

