He Really Didn’t Want A Hair Cut

My son was diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder when he was two years old. One of the effects of it was having extreme challenges with having his hair cut. The sound of scissors or clippers set him off. The feeling of the tiny bits of hair on his skin was unbearable. And after being forced to go to a barber, my son decided that because he’d seen how to cut hair, he could do it himself.

That’s something I’ve learned about this kiddo: he learns by watching. After he sees someone do something, in his mind, he can do it too. No awareness of a learning curve, or the fact that someone has practiced several times to be able to develop their level of skill. He sees it. He knows he can do it too.

A few days after I’d talked about how my son’s hair was getting a little bit long, I was getting ready to put him on the bus to preschool, and I noticed his bedroom door was closed. At four years old, his bedroom door was never closed during the day. Never. And, he was quiet. This kid was never quiet. Never.

I gingerly opened the door to my confident preschooler with scissors in hand and piles of hair on the floor at his feet. I caught him, mid-snip.Β Where just minutes before he’d had beautiful brown hair that was getting on the long side, the top of his head was stubble about 1/8″ long. His bangs were gone too. He hadn’t had time to get to the rest of his head, other than one big cut to the side.

Trying to not completely lose my shit on this poor kid, who just wanted to take control of something that was usually out of his control and very uncomfortable, I asked him what he was doing, and then explained that barbers practiced their hair cutting skills on doll head before they ever cut a person’s hair.

With that, I took him to preschool that day, dropping him off and heading to a nearby department store, where I bought the most complete clipper set they carried. I still use it to this day. Best $40 I ever spent.

stream-of-consciousness-saturday

Participated in Linda Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday. Here’s the prompt for this week.

 

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to He Really Didn’t Want A Hair Cut

  1. janonlife says:

    When my daughter was a preschooler she totally refused to have her hair cut for ages, because – she reasoned – it was part of her body and she didn’t want anyone taking any of it away!! Eventually I found the most wonderful hairdresser who did home visits. This lady brought a matchbox with her and told Anny she must collect every single bit of hair and keep it in the matchbox. That way she wouldn’t lose it and she could even use it to make a nest for an imaginary pet. Worked like a dream – genius!

  2. The Hook says:

    You’re officially one of my heroes.
    Your son couldn’t have asked for a better, more loving parent.
    All my, love to you both.

    • Thanks so much. I actually took a few books from out local library and learned how to cut hair. When he was about 2, he would tolerate having his hair cut if he was in the bath. It took 2 or 3 baths, but I’d eventually get it all cut.

  3. emjayandthem says:

    I remember cutting my Barbie’s hair and then the horror at realizing it was never going to grow back … You’re amazing at adapting!! MJ

  4. My son also flipped if we tried to cut his hair. He had a mop of curls until he was 3. Then I had to buy my own clippers and try to do it myself. Finally he adapted to the buzzing sounds and had a buzz cut for years. He’s 14 now and his hair is long and curly again.

    • Because my 14 yr old refuses to brush his hair (it hurts), I don’t let it get too long before I get at him with the clippers. I’m pretty confident these days with clippers and scissors. But having to work fast while he squirms is not fun. And getting him to take a shower is a PIA. When he was younger, I couldn’t keep him out of water; but with puberty, he hates to have to shower.

  5. Great kid! πŸ™‚πŸ‘ˆπŸΎ

  6. Jami Carder says:

    My mom had an upholstery business in our basement. Apparently, she found me at the age of 4 with her extra large, industrial fabric scissors “trimming” my bangs. I guess the blades were twice as big as my head….😳

  7. Our youngest had similar issues… now he’s the master of hair cuts! Gotta love those childhood haircut stories though!

Share your thoughts.

