Always Choose Heart

http://www.freshboo.com/pictures-of-flowers/

From Google Images

I think the biggest lesson in life is to choose heart. When you are faced with really big and scary decisions, choose based on how it feels when you feel through your heart. Are you making decisions because you are afraid of what will happen if you don’t choose one thing over another? Or are you choosing something because it feels right for you? Remember, something might feel right and work for someone else and absolutely not be right for you. Only you know what’s right for you. And when you connect to your heart and feel into decisions you make, it’s the way to go.

Another thing that I’ve been noticing is, there is no right or wrong. Right and wrong are judgments that we have learned to put onto people and situations. So, if you’re afraid to make a decision based on your heart because you feel it would be the wrong way to go, know that it’s just judgment and fear that’s holding you back. The bravest decisions are ones that you know in your soul are the right ones, and you go with them, despite everyone around you screaming at you that you’re wrong. Instead of thinking of something as being right or being wrong, think of whether the decision makes your heart or body contract or expand. Expansion feels better. Go with what feels better.

As a parent, one of my biggest fears has been that I might screw up my kid. I recently learned, during a hypnotherapy session, why this thought has been with me for over 35 years. Digging that fear up and creating a lot of healing around it has created space, freedom for me to make decisions around my child, based on heart and not the fear of screwing him up.

Just that one shift can make all the difference in what my son’s life will look like. Will it look better or worse 10 and 20 years down the line, than if I had never healed that belief in me? It doesn’t matter, because better and worse are judging by my limited “human” perception. One thing I know is that his life will be in more alignment with what his soul wanted to achieve during this lifetime.

My healing and letting go of old beliefs that are not in alignment with my true, divine self, inform every part of my life. They affect decisions I make every day from what I choose to eat, to how I spend my time, to what color shirt I put on, to the decisions I make as a spouse and as a parent. The more decisions (and especially the big ones) I make based on my heart, the more my life will reflect the divinity that is within me; and the same applies to you. The challenge as I see it, is to be brave enough to choose heart over fear.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Holistic Healing, Spirituality, The Voyage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Always Choose Heart

  1. I agree, choose heart over fear. Always. I has someone suggest to me a while ago that it may make sense to find the right ‘personal mix” between heart and mind/intellect. As one who honors my heart significantly and a fan of cardiac coherence, I believe that encouraging one’s heart to guide and balance the mind, is a practice worth considering.

    • A good friend taught me a valuable lesson a few years back when I was having trouble making a decision. What I didn’t realize at the time, was that my mind was telling me one thing, while my heart was very clearly saying something else. When I was advised to drop into my heart to decide, it was very easy to know which way to go. So easy, in fact, that it was a no-brainer (literally)!

  2. Eli Pacheco says:

    It sounds perfect – but there’s a spot, at least for me, where I can’t differentiate between heart and fear! I think that’ll become clearer as I go along. I’m looking for it.

    Beautiful piece.

    • If you’re trying to figure out if you’re choosing something based on heart (love) or based on fear, take a few minutes in a quiet place. Close your eyes and just breathe for a few minutes (or longer if you can). Think of one thing. What happens to your body when you think about it? Do any parts of your body tense up or contract? That’s fear. It might be fear of change. Or it might be fear based on judgment or values that don’t ring true for you any longer. (“If I don’t do this- or if I do this, then… judgment, judgment, judgment”). Fear of change is normal. Fear based on values and judgment are to be examined.

      If one of the choices you are trying to make relaxes you, or makes it easier to breathe when you think of it, that’s very telling. That’s the way to go.

      You’ll get there. You’re on your way!

  3. janonlife says:

    A lovely piece, Sue. I’ve been intending to read it ever since you posted it and life has been so hectic, I’ve only just got to it. That was meant to be! You see about 10 minutes ago, my friend River texted me to say she is having an awful time trying to decide between two major choices. I was wondering how to respond. So simple – I’ll just send her the link to this article. Thanks so much!

Share your thoughts.

