What Is Faith?

I was inspired to write this because of a comment that Eli, Coach Daddy, wrote to me about how crucial it is to have faith.

Just what is faith?

Faith is believing that even when life looks very bleak and hard, and it’s doing its best to squash me, things will work out.

Faith is believing that when things fall apart, it’s because something better wants to come into my life, and room has to be made for it.

have faith break eggs

Faith is believing that pain is temporary. It won’t last forever.

Faith is believing that emotions like anger, fear, and sadness are temporary. They too, shall pass.

Faith is believing that I can change my situation if I want to.

Faith is believing that I am not a victim of circumstances or of life.

Faith is believing that I can handle whatever comes along.

Faith is holding a vision with extreme conviction until it manifests.

Faith is believing that even in death, we continue on.

The difference between faith and what I call knowing, is having an experience that rings in all of my cells. I might believe something with all of my heart, but not know for certain that it’s true. But after having certain experiences, I know some things are true (for me).

I know that life is often a paradox.

I know that chronic, incurable disease can be healed.

I know that all physical pain can disappear in a moment.

I know what it’s like to connect with my higher self.

I know that I planned to experience certain challenges in my life.

I know that I’ve had several lives before this one (at least, to my brain they appear to be prior in time).

I know what it’s like to connect directly with God.

I know that my essence is the energy of light.

And I know that my essence is pure, unconditional, nonjudgmental, love.

In the absence of knowing, ya gotta have faith. It sure makes life easier to swallow sometimes.

 

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 15 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. Our most recent adventure has me homeschooling my teenager.
This entry was posted in Holistic Healing, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What Is Faith?

  1. janonlife says:

    Beautiful words.
    I enjoyed your distinction between Faith and Knowing. I’d never looked at it in quite that way, so plenty here to ponder.
    Thank you x

  2. sara says:

    I’ve been writing on faith as well, and I love all your ideas on faith and knowing. I would add that faith is not in something outside of yourself, such as religion, a holy person or someone else’s ideas. Faith is an inside job, and is polished by acceptance, trust and the question, “what if this is perfect?” Even when it feels like the opposite.

    • Thanks Sara. I love that you say faith is an inside job. I completely agree. If something doesn’t resonate with me, no matter how much it might resonate with another, it’s not for me. Faith resonates in my heart, even without a concrete experience to back it up. Knowing resonates in every cell in my body; and that might come from direct experience, or it might be dropped into my crown chakra (or heart). And I wanted to add that every thing I listed as a “knowing” has come to me in an altered state of consciousness (except the thing about paradoxes). They have happened to me in meditation or hypnosis (which I experience as a deep form of guided meditation).

  3. Eli Pacheco says:

    Thank you for sharing this, Sue. I’ve always felt religion to be personal, no matter where we sit in the church or synagogue or temple or mosque. It’ll appear as a different shade in all of us – thank you for glimpse into your faith.

    • And thank you for inspiring me. Growing up in the Northeast, I found that people tend to keep their faith close to the vest; personal and private. But being in the Northwest now, it seems that many people around here are very concerned with what I believe and tend to be very open about asking about it. Once, I was asked point blank if I had accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior, and when I didn’t know what to say, I was told that if I didn’t, I was going to hell. There’s a lot of that around here. To me, faith has more to do with living in the here and now than what happens to me after death. It has to do with whether I believe life does TO me, or FOR me. It has to do with whether I see God as a force external to me who sits in judgment of me, or if I am an integral part of that force, part of the big creation. It helps to have a friend who died, met God, and lived to come back and help educate me.

  4. The Hook says:

    Yours really is a beautiful soul, my friend.

  5. candidkay says:

    I especially needed this one today: “Faith is believing that when things fall apart, it’s because something better wants to come into my life, and room has to be made for it.” Thank you. As I focus my thoughts on light and love, it takes discipline. You know that all too well:).

  6. courtrundell says:

    Yes! Faith starts with belief for me. After I’ve seen evidence of the belief several times, then I have faith because of my experience.

Share your thoughts.

