The Inspiral

I invite you to read this wonderful post written by Jan Stone, a writer and freelance educator based in Glastonbury, England. In it, you will read a screenplay that describes the perfect school for my Little Man, if only it existed.

Jan brilliantly combines writing about the purpose of life with her second passion- a deep fascination with the intuition, understanding and ideas of a growing number of very special young people, who are variously called indigo, new energy or (by those who want to maintain the status quo) disordered. They appeared to understand life in ways she didn’t and she has spent many years listening and learning from them, and continue to do so.

Last year she published the book that had been forming itself from the combination of these twin obsessions for many years. It’s called Life: A Player’s Guide and it’s available as a paperback or Kindle book. I have not yet read her book, but intend to do so.

Looking at Life

It’s my anniversary!

I’ve just realised that exactly five years ago, I turned my back on the state education system, where I’d worked for many decades, and walked out into the daylight of a new, uncertain but exciting future.

My last few years as a teacher were very tough.  Trying to balance the increasingly crazy demands of our political masters, trying to do justice to the needs of the wonderful children I taught, trying to achieve the grades expected of us by the education authority and – worst of all – trying to maintain my role within senior management in a system I neither trusted nor believed in, all took their toll.  My stress levels were rising.

In my small amounts of spare time, I did the two things that have always helped me the most: I visualised the  situation I wanted and I wrote.  In fact, I combined the two – and came up with…

View original post 5,424 more words

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts.

