Our Time By the Ocean

Little Man and I spent a few weeks on the Maine coast, overlooking the Atlantic. It was so good to be back there, to my former home, where I started my life of working on the ocean back in the late 80’s.

We spent time on and in the water, visiting with old friends, and taking in some tourist activities.Ā IĀ alsoĀ spent some time scraping and painting trim on the cottage. It had belonged to my parents, and now that they’re both gone, the neglected maintenance is demanding our attention. Rotting wood and peelingĀ  paint are finally being tended to. As I’ve scraped, sanded and painted on the cottage before (years ago), it was pleasantly familiar to renew and refresh some of the trim.

One of Little Man’s passions is lighthouses. And there are definitely lighthouses a plenty in the area. And we took in a number of them, via boat and by land. Little Man loves driving a boat and was in heaven being able to use his uncle’s.

Another one of Little Man’s passions is trains. And there is a narrow gaugeĀ steam train that runs around a loop of track all summer long. The track surrounds a small village created by some historic buildings in the area that were moved there, such as an old town hall, a small school-house, and more. There is also a large building filled with antique cars and a few trucks. Visiting here is a must when we’re in town.

One of the big treats for me being at the cottage, was watching sunrise. And because the room I was sleeping in faced the ocean and didn’t have a shade, I woke up bright and early on every sunny day we were there; usually between 4:30am and 5:00am. I’m such a shutterbugĀ that when I see a sky pinking up in anticipation of the sun coming up, instead of pulling the covers over my head or putting on an eye shade, I grabbed my camera and started snapping away. Here are some of my favorite shots. And I threw in a sunset that we caught our last night there.

One day after Little Man had been down at the dock for a swim, he came back to the cottage, telling me that someone had come by and knew who he was. He was amazed by the number of people that we bumped into or had over, who not only know me, but who’ve known me since I was a baby. Growing up, I spent every summer vacation at the cottage. And when I was a few years out of college, I lived thereĀ while I began my careerĀ working on the ocean.Ā Once I was shipping out I didn’t get back there much, but friends of the family were able to keep up on my adventuresĀ through my parents. There is a little summer chapel right near the cottage where my husband and I were married, and Little Man was christened.

It was surreal to be back at the cottage with neither of my parents alive. This was the first time I’d been there since the death of my mother, as I went nowhere last summer. We are now the elder generation in residence, and have taken on the roll of caretaker.

Here is a final assortment of photos from around the area for you to enjoy. (All photos were taken by me and are copyrighted by me, unless otherwise specified. If you want to use one, just ask.)

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a creative adult son, a former merchant ship's deck officer, and a wife. To feed my creative side I take photos. I am also Reiki Level 2 attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family. My most recent adventure has me navigating a very challenging Kundalini Awakening.
This entry was posted in Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Our Time By the Ocean

  1. janonlife says:

    Fantastic photos, Sue, and lovely to read of your adventures. Yes, it is strange returning to somewhere that’s been home, at a different stage in your life. I feel slightly that way in Glastonbury, as my parents used to live here and we had many happy holidays with them when the kids were small. My daughter now visits and takes her son to the playgrounds and attractions she enjoyed as a toddler!

  2. Gorgeous photos! Happy you guys had such a good time.

  3. Hi Susan!
    I’m always so thrilled to see something from you and this was a real treat. The stories, a view of you and your little man and the photos were stunning! I loved hearing about it all and can’t wait to have time to pour over the pictures again. Hope you are doing well!
    Michelle

  4. bigthinker8 says:

    How great to be able to share all of this with your son. Love the photos, too. Such a beautiful area. I spent some time in Maine about 3 yrs ago at Marie joseph retreat house in Biddeford. Hoping to return someday. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for coming by and commenting. My son loves visiting here, and especially driving the boat. I love to be there and take tons of photos! I have no idea where my son gets his love of boats (lol).

  5. Lee says:

    Sue, you look great girl!!! You have done FABULOUS on your weight loss! You can really tell in the photo of you and Carson. Can’t wait to go shopping again!!!

  6. Aussa Lorens says:

    Oh, gorgeous! I love the lighthouse shots. There was a lighthouse near my family’s condo when I was growing up… but it was on private property and I hadn’t yet developed my penchant for disregarding rules.

  7. Thanks for coming by, Aussa. A few of these lighthouses are on private property, and it kills my son that he can’t just walk up to them. But two of the lights are open to the public, and one we were able to go up in. It sure is beautiful country there on the coast of Maine.

  8. Susan, what a fantastic vacation and such gorgeous photos! Like your boy, I love lighthouses too, and you have really captured some beauties here! All of the shots… just fantastic! I would die for such beautiful sunrises each day, even if I hate early rising! šŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing this special time and place. xo

  9. Dawn, thanks for dropping by. Glad you enjoyed the pictures. I need to take more photos and post them here.

Share your thoughts.