Getting The Shot

The photographer in me has been rearing its head lately. Probably because I am doing a few local craft shows. During the shows I get to revisit a bunch of my better and more favorite nature photos, which inspires me to take more.

So, this morning, I couldn’t help myself when I looked out on the front porch and saw my miniature rose plant, with a bud and one flower, completely frosted over. I had to get THE shot. The flower covered with frost shot. What is it about certain things that make me have to photograph them? But I digress.

So, do I grab my point and shoot camera and do a quickie shot, hoping I can get something? Or do I drag out the big guns and tripod, and actually try for something good. I opt for my digital SLR and a fairly wide angle lens (so I can get close), and my tripod.

Out onto the front deck I shuffle in my PJ’s and flip flops, being careful to not slip on the icy boards. Since the plant is potted, and on a small stand, I can move it around, so as to get better lighting. After a few snaps, I decided that there just isn’t enough light on the porch, so I crunched across the lawn to more light. Deciding the flip flops weren’t enough, I stole back into the house for my husband’s Crocs (the ones with the holes).

After getting a few shots of the frozen and frost covered rose bud, there was the one blossom, elegantly bowing towards the grass, with frost crystals all over it. But how to get a shot with some light on the blossom when it was facing anywhere but toward the little light that was out there? Aha! I got a toothpick and a twist tie to straighten and stabilize the wilting stem. Trying to get any sort of shot was an exercise in seeing how much I could take, sitting on the cold ground (melting the frost under my butt), adjusting the height of the tripod between my legs, pitch and angle of the camera, shooting in full manual with manual focus, as my toes and fingers began to go numb. The thought of running inside, grabbing a lamp and running an extension cord out to the front lawn briefly crossed my mind. How to light the inside of the bloom?

Even with my rig to bolster the stem, the weight of the tiny blossom still fell victim to gravity. I looked around and found some 8″ oversized nails (spikes, I guess), and used one to prop up the blossom. Better. Not fabulous, but better.

At this point, my posterior was wet and cold, there was a melted spot on the lawn next to this miniature potted rose, I had lost feeling in two toes, and my fingers were going fast. The knees of my pajama pants and the front of my legs just below my pajama pants had bits of mud here and there. And my patience was going fast. I composed a few shots, made aperture, shutter, and focal adjustments, and fired off a few.

After I came inside, scrubbed mud off my legs, warmed my frozen toes and fingers, and changed out of my wet and muddy clothes, all I thought was, I hope I got the shot.

Frost covered bud.

Bowing down.

The dark spot was a tiny spider hiding in the petals.

About mariner2mother

I'm a mother of a very spirited 14 year old son, and a former merchant ship's deck officer. To feed my creative side I take photos and make a very occasional batch of soap. I am also Reiki attuned and am a student of Energy Healing, having used several healing modalities to work on myself and my family.
This entry was posted in Photography, The Voyage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getting The Shot

  1. WOW! Gorgeous! I’d say you got “the shot”! I love it. Worth the frozen butt and numb fingers I bet!

    • Thanks! Now I’d better get that mud out of my PJ’s before bedtime tonight! (What you can’t see in the final shot- because I artfully cropped the photo- is the spike holding up the bloom, and the toothpick and twist tie around the stem, just behind the blossom.)

  2. jeanie adkins says:

    WOW!!!! These are amazing and so worth the effort you put forth!!!! WONDERFUL!!!

  3. Lenore Diane says:

    All three are great! Love the frost covered bud.

Share your thoughts.

